Hemp Laws & Licensing · WI
Wisconsin hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — There is no state license or registration for making or selling hemp/CBD products, and state law sets no age limit or…
- Minimum age
- No state age rule stated
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- No state cap stated
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Allowed
- Key law
- Wis. Stat. § 94.55 (hemp); no state cannabinoid-product statute
The law today
Wisconsin has no state hemp program: DATCP stopped licensing growers on 2022-01-01 and hemp producers are licensed directly by USDA. There is no state license or registration for making or selling hemp/CBD products, and state law sets no age limit or per-serving THC cap for hemp products, defining hemp only by 0.3% delta-9 THC (Wis. Stat. 94.55), so hemp-derived THC products are widely sold; food products still need DATCP food licensing and truthful labeling.
Bills to regulate hemp-derived cannabinoid products and set a 21+ age limit (2025 AB 747, SB 644/AB 680) all failed when the session ended 2026-03-23. The federal definition change (P.L. 119-37, most provisions effective 2026-12-11) will override state law for products above 0.3% total THC or 0.4 mg THC per container.
Who regulates it
Hemp producer licensing for Wisconsin growers (state program discontinued 2022-01-01)
Legacy hemp program page; food, weights-and-measures and consumer protection rules that still apply to hemp products
Licenses & registrations
USDA Hemp eManagement Platform (HeMP) – producer licenseams.usda.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone growing hemp in Wisconsin
- Fee
- No USDA fee
USDA information for hemp producersams.usda.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Growers
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Businesses making or selling hemp food products
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Wis. Stat. § 94.55 – Hempdocs.legis.wisconsin.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Wisconsin Legislative Council Issue Brief – Federal Hemp Legislation (May 2026)docs.legis.wisconsin.gov (opens in a new tab)
- 2025 AB 747 – regulating hemp-derived cannabinoid products (failed to pass 2026-03-23)docs.legis.wisconsin.gov (opens in a new tab)
- 2025 SB 644 – prohibiting under-21 access to intoxicating hemp products (failed to pass 2026-03-23)docs.legis.wisconsin.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
No state-specific COA page was found for Wisconsin; the federal sampling and lab rules on the main page apply, and the licensing pages above carry any state testing rules.
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Wisconsin
- 1
Register the business with the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions and get a seller's permit from the Department of Revenue
- 2
Growers: obtain a USDA hemp producer license through HeMP (no state license)
- 3
Hemp food/beverage makers and sellers: obtain the applicable DATCP food processing or retail food license and follow DATCP labeling/method-of-sale rules
- 4
Keep COAs for every product showing ≤0.3% delta-9 THC (and prepare for the federal total-THC and 0.4 mg per-container standards effective 2026-12-11)
- 5
Adopt a voluntary 21+ sales policy and watch the 2027 legislative session for a renewed regulatory bill
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Wisconsin
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only).
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence — Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- DATCP's hemp page states it is not regularly updated. No Wisconsin statute regulates intoxicating hemp products as of this date; legality post-2026-12-11 depends on the federal definition.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- No state age limit or licensing (GHD gates 21+); Milwaukee and Madison ordinances bar sales to under-21s. 2026 regulation bills (SB 644/AB 680, AB 503, AB 606) all died. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Wisconsin Lawyer: The State of Hemp-Derived Products in Wisconsin (State Bar of Wisconsin)wisbar.org (opens in a new tab) · 2026-01-08
“Wisconsin state officials have mainly chosen to sit on the sidelines for intoxicating hemp-derived product regulation; consumers can have them shipped directly to their doors.”
Wisconsin hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Wisconsin sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Wisconsin?
- Wisconsin does not issue a hemp retail license: There is no state license or registration for making or selling hemp/CBD products, and state law sets no age limit or per-serving THC cap for hemp products, defining hemp only by 0.3% delta-9 THC (Wis. Official link: DATCP food licenses (required for hemp-infused food/beverage processors and retailers) (datcp.wi.gov). Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Wisconsin?
- USDA Agricultural Marketing Service – Domestic Hemp Production Program — Hemp producer licensing for Wisconsin growers (state program discontinued 2022-01-01). Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection – Hemp resources — Legacy hemp program page; food, weights-and-measures and consumer protection rules that still apply to hemp products.
- What are Wisconsin's hemp laws in 2026?
- Wisconsin has no state hemp program: DATCP stopped licensing growers on 2022-01-01 and hemp producers are licensed directly by USDA. There is no state license or registration for making or selling hemp/CBD products, and state law sets no age limit or per-serving THC cap for hemp products, defining hemp only by 0.3% delta-9 THC (Wis. Key law: Wis. Stat. § 94.55 (hemp); no state cannabinoid-product statute.
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Wisconsin?
- Wisconsin states no minimum age for hemp products in the sources verified September 29, 2026; Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Wisconsin cap THC in hemp products?
- Wisconsin sets no state-level milligram cap in the verified dataset; the federal definition (total THC including THCA at or below 0.3% dry weight) applies, and the state law summary above lists any product rules.
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Wisconsin?
- 1. Register the business with the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions and get a seller's permit from the Department of Revenue. 2. Growers: obtain a USDA hemp producer license through HeMP (no state license). 3. Hemp food/beverage makers and sellers: obtain the applicable DATCP food processing or retail food license and follow DATCP labeling/method-of-sale rules. 4. Keep COAs for every product showing ≤0.3% delta-9 THC (and prepare for the federal total-THC and 0.4 mg per-container standards effective 2026-12-11). 5. Adopt a voluntary 21+ sales policy and watch the 2027 legislative session for a renewed regulatory bill.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.