Hemp Laws & Licensing · IA
Iowa hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- Yes — Consumable Hemp Retailer / Manufacturer registration portal (apply or renew)
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 4 mg THC per serving · 10 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Allowed
- Key law
- IA HF 2605 (2024); Iowa Code ch. 204; Iowa Admin. Code 641-156 — effective July 1, 2024
The law today
Iowa regulates consumable hemp under Iowa Code chapter 204 and IAC 641-156: manufacturers and retailers (including each retail location) must register annually with Iowa HHS, list their products, and use ISO 17025-accredited lab COAs. Since July 1, 2024 (HF 2605) products may contain no more than 4 mg total THC per serving and 10 mg per container, buyers must be 21+ with photo ID checked, synthetic/converted cannabinoids (delta-8, delta-10, HHC, THC-O, etc.) are prohibited, and products for inhalation (including raw flower marketed for smoking/vaping) are banned; mandatory warning labels apply.
Selling unregistered products can bring civil penalties up to $10,000 per day, and non-conforming products are treated as controlled substances. State hemp cultivation licensing ended December 31, 2024, so growers license through USDA; no further state changes were enacted in 2025 or 2026.
Who regulates it
Registers consumable hemp manufacturers and retailers, registers products, enforces THC caps, testing and labeling (Iowa Code ch. 204; IAC 641-156)
State hemp cultivation licensing ended Dec 31, 2024; refers growers to USDA
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Every business selling consumable hemp products in Iowa at retail (each location) and every manufacturer of consumable hemp products for sale in Iowa; annual registration, apply 30 days before opening, product list required
- Fee
- $475 per registration per year (retailer or manufacturer), per Iowa Business License Information Center
Consumable Hemp registration information and resources (Iowa HHS)hhs.iowa.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Applicants and registrants (who must register, process, renewal)
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Anyone cultivating hemp in Iowa (state IDALS program ceased Dec 31, 2024)
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Iowa Code chapter 204 – Hemp (2026 edition)legis.iowa.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Iowa Administrative Code 641—Chapter 156, Consumable Hemp Products (eff. 7/17/2024)legis.iowa.gov (opens in a new tab)
- HF 2605 (2024) – consumable hemp THC caps, age 21 – Iowa Legislature bill booklegis.iowa.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Iowa HHS HF 2605 FAQ (July 2024)hhs.iowa.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Iowa
- 1
Register the business with the Iowa Secretary of State and obtain an Iowa sales tax permit
- 2
Manufacturers: obtain a food processing plant license (for foods/supplements) and register as a Consumable Hemp Manufacturer with Iowa HHS ($475/yr) at least 30 days before operating; upload the full product list with COAs
- 3
Retailers: register each location as a Consumable Hemp Retailer with Iowa HHS ($475/yr), submitting the product list with supplier/manufacturer info; renew at least 30 days before expiration
- 4
Stock only products at or under 4 mg THC per serving / 10 mg per container, with no synthetic cannabinoids and no inhalable forms, each backed by an ISO 17025 lab COA
- 5
Label with lot number, expiration, cannabinoid content per serving and the required Iowa warning statements
- 6
Check photo ID and sell only to customers 21+; report adverse events to Iowa HHS
- 7
Growers: apply for a USDA hemp producer license (HeMP platform) since Iowa no longer issues state cultivation licenses
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Iowa
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only · vendor state permit required · state caps: 4 mg THC per serving, 10 mg per package).
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence — Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- Registration fee amount ($475) comes from the Iowa Business License Information Center listing (license.iasourcelink.com), not the HHS page itself; HHS sets the fee under Iowa Code 204.7 - confirm in the portal. The registration portal is a state Salesforce site (idph.my.site.com) linked from hhs.iowa.gov. A 2024 federal challenge to HF 2605 (THC beverage makers) was rejected and the law is in force.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- 4 mg total THC per serving / 10 mg per container; only naturally derived delta-9; synthetics and inhalables banned. Retailers including out-of-state sellers to Iowa purchasers must register with Iowa HHS/DIAL and post the registration at any online point of sale. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- July 2024 Consumable Hemp: HF 2605 FAQ (Iowa HHS)hhs.iowa.gov (opens in a new tab) · 2024-07
“4 mg per serving... 10 mg per container... Registrants should check photo IDs of every individual purchasing consumable hemp products to verify they are 21 years of age or older... synthetic consumable hemp products will be prohibited.”
Iowa hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Iowa sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Iowa?
- Yes. Official link: Consumable Hemp Retailer / Manufacturer registration portal (apply or renew) (idph.my.site.com) — fee: $475 per registration per year (retailer or manufacturer), per Iowa Business License Information Center. Growers license separately through the state hemp program or USDA.
- Who regulates hemp in Iowa?
- Iowa Department of Health and Human Services – Consumable Hemp Program — Registers consumable hemp manufacturers and retailers, registers products, enforces THC caps, testing and labeling (Iowa Code ch. 204; IAC 641-156). Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship – Hemp Program (closed; growers now license with USDA) — State hemp cultivation licensing ended Dec 31, 2024; refers growers to USDA.
- What are Iowa's hemp laws in 2026?
- Iowa regulates consumable hemp under Iowa Code chapter 204 and IAC 641-156: manufacturers and retailers (including each retail location) must register annually with Iowa HHS, list their products, and use ISO 17025-accredited lab COAs. Since July 1, 2024 (HF 2605) products may contain no more than 4 mg total THC per serving and 10 mg per container, buyers must be 21+ with photo ID checked, synthetic/converted cannabinoids (delta-8, delta-10, HHC, THC-O, etc.) are prohibited, and products for inhalation (including raw flower marketed for smoking/vaping) are banned; mandatory warning labels apply. Key law: IA HF 2605 (2024); Iowa Code ch. 204; Iowa Admin. Code 641-156 (effective July 1, 2024).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Iowa?
- 21+ under Iowa law (IA HF 2605 (2024); Iowa Code ch. 204; Iowa Admin. Code 641-156). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Iowa cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes — 4 mg THC per serving · 10 mg per package under IA HF 2605 (2024); Iowa Code ch. 204; Iowa Admin. Code 641-156. Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does Iowa require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- IAC 641-156 testing requirement (ISO/IEC 17025-accredited lab COA within 1 year; cannabinoids, pesticides, solvents, metals, pathogens). Official page: legis.iowa.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Iowa?
- 1. Register the business with the Iowa Secretary of State and obtain an Iowa sales tax permit. 2. Manufacturers: obtain a food processing plant license (for foods/supplements) and register as a Consumable Hemp Manufacturer with Iowa HHS ($475/yr) at least 30 days before operating; upload the full product list with COAs. 3. Retailers: register each location as a Consumable Hemp Retailer with Iowa HHS ($475/yr), submitting the product list with supplier/manufacturer info; renew at least 30 days before expiration. 4. Stock only products at or under 4 mg THC per serving / 10 mg per container, with no synthetic cannabinoids and no inhalable forms, each backed by an ISO 17025 lab COA. 5. Label with lot number, expiration, cannabinoid content per serving and the required Iowa warning statements. 6. Check photo ID and sell only to customers 21+; report adverse events to Iowa HHS. 7. Growers: apply for a USDA hemp producer license (HeMP platform) since Iowa no longer issues state cultivation licenses.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.