Hemp Laws & Licensing · WY
Wyoming hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — …Department of Agriculture ($750 application fee) and has no license, registration, age limit or per-serving THC cap…
- Minimum age
- No state age rule stated
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- No state cap stated
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Allowed
- Key law
- Wyo. SF 32 (2024), W.S. § 11-51-101 and § 35-7-1002 — effective July 1, 2024
The law today
Wyoming licenses hemp producers and processors through the Department of Agriculture ($750 application fee) and has no license, registration, age limit or per-serving THC cap for selling finished hemp/CBD products at retail or online. Since SF0032 took effect on 2024-07-01, 'hemp' in Wyoming must contain no synthetic substance and no more than 0.3% total THC (defined to include psychoactive THC analogs and isomers), so delta-8, THC-O, HHC and other converted or synthetic cannabinoid products, and THCa flower over 0.3% total THC, are not lawful hemp and are treated as controlled substances; adding synthetic substances to hemp products is prohibited and violations can permanently disqualify a licensee.
Wyoming has no medical or adult-use cannabis program, so intoxicating products have no legal channel in the state.
Who regulates it
Wyoming Department of Agriculture – Hemp Programagriculture.wy.gov (opens in a new tab)
Hemp producer and processor licensing under the USDA-approved state plan (W.S. 11-51-101 et seq.; WDA Hemp Rules Chapter 61)
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Anyone growing or processing hemp in Wyoming (submit to agrhemp@wyo.gov)
- Fee
- $750 license application fee ($500 for educational/nonprofit), plus sampling and testing fees
- Who needs it
- Licensed producers and processors
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
Wyoming State Hemp Plan (USDA-approved)agriculture.wy.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Reference for licensing, sampling and compliance procedures
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- SF0032 (2024), Enrolled Act No. 24 – Hemp: regulation of synthetic substances (effective 2024-07-01)wyoleg.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Wyoming Statutes Title 11 (Agriculture) – includes Chapter 51, Hemp (W.S. 11-51-101 et seq.)wyoleg.gov (opens in a new tab)
- WDA Statutes, Rules and Regulations page (Hemp Rules Chapter 61)agriculture.wy.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
WDA Hemp Program – sampling and testing forms and proceduresagriculture.wy.gov (opens in a new tab)
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Wyoming
- 1
Register the business with the Wyoming Secretary of State and obtain a Wyoming sales/use tax license from the Department of Revenue
- 2
Growers/processors: submit the WDA Hemp License Application ($750; $500 educational/nonprofit) with GPS-mapped lots or processing sites, and pay sampling/testing fees before harvest
- 3
Sellers of finished hemp products: no state license, but stock only products with COAs showing ≤0.3% total THC (including analogs/isomers) and no synthetic or converted cannabinoids (no delta-8, THC-O, HHC)
- 4
Follow WDA Consumer Health Services food rules for any hemp food/beverage products
- 5
Prepare for the federal 0.4 mg total THC per-container limit effective 2026-12-11
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Wyoming
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only).
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence — Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- WDA's hemp page does not publish current fee amounts; the $750 figure comes from the WDA license application/State Hemp Plan documents on the same site. The Title 11 statute link is a large compressed PDF of the whole title (W.S. 11-51 is the hemp chapter); WDA Hemp Rules Chapter 61 are reachable via the WDA rules page / rules.wyo.gov. No 2025–2026 Wyoming legislative changes to hemp were found.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- Hemp-derived delta-9 edibles/beverages at or under 0.3% total THC (all isomers) remain sold in-store and online; synthetic cannabinoids including delta-8, HHC and THC-O banned (10th Circuit upheld SF 32, 2025-10-27). No state purchase-age statute (GHD gates 21+). (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Wyoming hemp vendors reel from Delta-8 court loss, new federal ban (WyoFile)wyofile.com (opens in a new tab) · 2025-11-17
“After the 10th Circuit upheld the Delta-8 ban, vendors shifted to Delta-9 gummies that are under 0.3% THC, as well as other legal herbal products; one vendor voluntarily imposed 21+ though state law permitted 18+.”
Wyoming hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Wyoming sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Wyoming?
- Wyoming does not issue a hemp retail license: Department of Agriculture ($750 application fee) and has no license, registration, age limit or per-serving THC cap for selling finished hemp/CBD products at retail or online. Official link: Wyoming Hemp License Application (producer / processor / both) – PDF (agriculture.wy.gov.pdf) — fee: $750 license application fee ($500 for educational/nonprofit), plus sampling and testing fees. Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Wyoming?
- Wyoming Department of Agriculture – Hemp Program — Hemp producer and processor licensing under the USDA-approved state plan (W.S. 11-51-101 et seq.; WDA Hemp Rules Chapter 61).
- What are Wyoming's hemp laws in 2026?
- Wyoming licenses hemp producers and processors through the Department of Agriculture ($750 application fee) and has no license, registration, age limit or per-serving THC cap for selling finished hemp/CBD products at retail or online. Since SF0032 took effect on 2024-07-01, 'hemp' in Wyoming must contain no synthetic substance and no more than 0.3% total THC (defined to include psychoactive THC analogs and isomers), so delta-8, THC-O, HHC and other converted or synthetic cannabinoid products, and THCa flower over 0.3% total THC, are not lawful hemp and are treated as controlled substances; adding synthetic substances to hemp products is prohibited and violations can permanently disqualify a licensee. Key law: Wyo. SF 32 (2024), W.S. § 11-51-101 and § 35-7-1002 (effective July 1, 2024).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Wyoming?
- Wyoming states no minimum age for hemp products in the sources verified September 29, 2026; Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Wyoming cap THC in hemp products?
- Wyoming sets no state-level milligram cap in the verified dataset; the federal definition (total THC including THCA at or below 0.3% dry weight) applies, and the state law summary above lists any product rules.
- Does Wyoming require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- WDA Hemp Program – sampling and testing forms and procedures. Official page: agriculture.wy.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Wyoming?
- 1. Register the business with the Wyoming Secretary of State and obtain a Wyoming sales/use tax license from the Department of Revenue. 2. Growers/processors: submit the WDA Hemp License Application ($750; $500 educational/nonprofit) with GPS-mapped lots or processing sites, and pay sampling/testing fees before harvest. 3. Sellers of finished hemp products: no state license, but stock only products with COAs showing ≤0.3% total THC (including analogs/isomers) and no synthetic or converted cannabinoids (no delta-8, THC-O, HHC). 4. Follow WDA Consumer Health Services food rules for any hemp food/beverage products. 5. Prepare for the federal 0.4 mg total THC per-container limit effective 2026-12-11.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.