Hemp Laws & Licensing · IL
Illinois hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — …retailers have no separate state hemp license but must sell only compliant, tested, age-gated products (unlicensed…
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- No state cap stated
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Allowed
- Key law
- IL Public Act 104-463 (SB 3222) – Illinois Hemp Act (2026) — effective June 12, 2026
The law today
Illinois enacted the Illinois Hemp Act (Public Act 104-463, SB 3222) on June 12, 2026. Effective immediately, hemp products containing more than 0.4 mg total THC per container may be sold only to adults 21+ with ID checks for anyone appearing under 30, and new labeling rules apply; on November 12, 2026 the old Industrial Hemp Act is repealed and any finished product with more than 0.4 mg combined THC/THC-like cannabinoids per container (or any synthetic/non-naturally-occurring cannabinoid) is classified as cannabis that only Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act licensees and dispensaries may sell.
Compliant hemp products must be prepackaged in child-resistant containers, lab-tested by an IDOA-approved lab with a scannable COA, free of alcohol/tobacco/nicotine, and may not be intended for smoking or vaping; consumable-product makers need a $5,000 two-year Hemp Product Manufacturer license and raw-material processors a $200 license, while retailers have no separate state hemp license but must sell only compliant, tested, age-gated products (unlicensed sales of over-threshold products are prosecutable as cannabis offenses).
Who regulates it
Hemp cultivation, industrial hemp processor and hemp product manufacturer licensing; testing/labeling rules under the Illinois Hemp Act
Coordinates IDOA/IDFPR cannabis regulation; hemp products over 0.4 mg total THC per container are treated as cannabis and confined to the licensed cannabis system
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Illinois Cannabis Regulation Oversight Office / IDOA Division of Cannabis Regulation & IDFPRcannabis.illinois.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Hemp growers; industrial hemp processors (raw plant material only, $200 / 2 yrs); hemp product manufacturers making consumable hemp products ($5,000 / 2 yrs, facility inspection + food-safety compliance)
- Fee
- Processor $200 per 2-yr license; Hemp Product Manufacturer $5,000 per 2-yr license (cultivation fee set in portal)
How to apply or renew (IDOA hemp program instructions)agr.illinois.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- All IDOA hemp license applicants (requires Illinois Secretary of State business registration first)
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
IDOA hemp forms and applicationsagr.illinois.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Licensees (harvest notifications, lot testing, etc.)
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Illinois Hemp Act overview – IDOA Informational Bulletin IB-2026-06 (P.A. 104-463 / SB 3222)agr.illinois.gov (opens in a new tab)
- IDOA hemp news: June 2026 Illinois Hemp Actagr.illinois.gov (opens in a new tab)
- SB 3222 (104th GA) bill status – Illinois General Assemblyilga.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Public Act 104-0463 (Illinois Hemp Act) full textilga.gov (opens in a new tab)
- IDOA hemp laws and regulations page (Industrial Hemp Act 505 ILCS 89; 8 Ill. Adm. Code 1200 – in force until 2026-11-12)agr.illinois.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
IDOA Department-approved hemp testing laboratoriesagr.illinois.gov (opens in a new tab)
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Illinois
- 1
Register the business with the Illinois Secretary of State (required before an IDOA hemp license is issued)
- 2
Growers: apply for or renew an IDOA hemp cultivation license in the online portal (existing cultivation licenses transfer automatically under the new Act)
- 3
Manufacturers of consumable hemp products: apply for the IDOA Hemp Product Manufacturer license ($5,000 / 2 years; facility inspection, local zoning verification, IDPH-certified food sanitation manager); raw-material processors apply for the $200 Industrial Hemp Processor license
- 4
Have every lot tested by an IDOA-approved laboratory to cannabis standards and keep total THC/THC-like cannabinoids at or below 0.4 mg per container; put a QR code linking to the COA on the label
- 5
Package products prepackaged and child-resistant with full cannabinoid content in mg, batch/lot, expiration, ingredients and manufacturer contact; no smokable/vape products, no health claims, no child-appealing imagery
- 6
Retailers: sell only compliant hemp products, verify age (21+, check ID if under 30 in appearance) for any product over 0.4 mg THC; products above the threshold require a cannabis dispensary license under the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act
- 7
Watch for IDOA rulemaking before the November 12, 2026 full-implementation date and for local ordinances (e.g., Chicago has debated its own hemp-THC restrictions)
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Illinois
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only · closes November 12, 2026).
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence — Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- The two ilga.gov links could not be content-fetched from the research environment because the legislature's web server sends an incomplete TLS certificate chain (certificate CN *.ilga.gov confirmed); URLs come from the search index and follow ILGA's standard format. IDOA's June 2026 overview does not describe a state retail license for hemp products; treat retailer registration as 'none currently, pending rulemaking'. Grower license fees are not published on the landing page (shown in the portal). Chicago's proposed municipal ban on hemp-derived THC products was still pending as of research date.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- STATE SUNSET: on 2026-11-12 Illinois's own 0.4 mg total THC per container cap takes effect (dispensary-only above it). Until then 21+, cannabis-style packaging/marketing rules, no state retailer license; online sales not prohibited. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Informational Bulletin: June 2026 Illinois Hemp Act Overview (Illinois Department of Agriculture)agr.illinois.gov (opens in a new tab) · 2026-06
“all cannabinoid products that contain more than 0.4 milligrams of THC... may only be offered to sale to individuals over age 21... On November 12, 2026, the Industrial Hemp Act will be repealed and replaced.”
Illinois hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Illinois sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Illinois?
- Illinois does not issue a hemp retail license: retailers have no separate state hemp license but must sell only compliant, tested, age-gated products (unlicensed sales of over-threshold products are prosecutable as cannabis offenses). Official link: IDOA hemp license application / renewal portal (cultivation, processor, hemp product manufacturer) (apps.agr.illinois.gov) — fee: Processor $200 per 2-yr license; Hemp Product Manufacturer $5,000 per 2-yr license (cultivation fee set in portal). Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Illinois?
- Illinois Department of Agriculture – Hemp Program (Division of Cannabis Regulation) — Hemp cultivation, industrial hemp processor and hemp product manufacturer licensing; testing/labeling rules under the Illinois Hemp Act. Illinois Cannabis Regulation Oversight Office (cannabis.illinois.gov) — Coordinates IDOA/IDFPR cannabis regulation; hemp products over 0.4 mg total THC per container are treated as cannabis and confined to the licensed cannabis system. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Illinois Cannabis Regulation Oversight Office / IDOA Division of Cannabis Regulation & IDFPR.
- What are Illinois's hemp laws in 2026?
- Illinois enacted the Illinois Hemp Act (Public Act 104-463, SB 3222) on June 12, 2026. Effective immediately, hemp products containing more than 0.4 mg total THC per container may be sold only to adults 21+ with ID checks for anyone appearing under 30, and new labeling rules apply; on November 12, 2026 the old Industrial Hemp Act is repealed and any finished product with more than 0.4 mg combined THC/THC-like cannabinoids per container (or any synthetic/non-naturally-occurring cannabinoid) is classified as cannabis that only Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act licensees and dispensaries may sell. Key law: IL Public Act 104-463 (SB 3222) – Illinois Hemp Act (2026) (effective June 12, 2026).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Illinois?
- 21+ under Illinois law (IL Public Act 104-463 (SB 3222) – Illinois Hemp Act (2026)). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Illinois cap THC in hemp products?
- Illinois sets no state-level milligram cap in the verified dataset; the federal definition (total THC including THCA at or below 0.3% dry weight) applies, and the state law summary above lists any product rules.
- Does Illinois require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- IDOA Department-approved hemp testing laboratories. Official page: agr.illinois.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Illinois?
- 1. Register the business with the Illinois Secretary of State (required before an IDOA hemp license is issued). 2. Growers: apply for or renew an IDOA hemp cultivation license in the online portal (existing cultivation licenses transfer automatically under the new Act). 3. Manufacturers of consumable hemp products: apply for the IDOA Hemp Product Manufacturer license ($5,000 / 2 years; facility inspection, local zoning verification, IDPH-certified food sanitation manager); raw-material processors apply for the $200 Industrial Hemp Processor license. 4. Have every lot tested by an IDOA-approved laboratory to cannabis standards and keep total THC/THC-like cannabinoids at or below 0.4 mg per container; put a QR code linking to the COA on the label. 5. Package products prepackaged and child-resistant with full cannabinoid content in mg, batch/lot, expiration, ingredients and manufacturer contact; no smokable/vape products, no health claims, no child-appealing imagery. 6. Retailers: sell only compliant hemp products, verify age (21+, check ID if under 30 in appearance) for any product over 0.4 mg THC; products above the threshold require a cannabis dispensary license under the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act. 7. Watch for IDOA rulemaking before the November 12, 2026 full-implementation date and for local ordinances (e.g., Chicago has debated its own hemp-THC restrictions).
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.