Hemp Laws & Licensing ยท TX
Texas hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- Yes โ DSHS Consumable Hemp Licensing & Registration (manufacturer license / retail registration)
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- No state cap stated
- Hemp-derived THC products ยท online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) ยท online: Allowed
- Key law
- Tex. Health & Safety Code ch. 443; 25 TAC ยง300.101 (eff. 2026-03-31); DSHS Schedule I rule (upheld 2026-05-01); Exec. Order GA-56 (2025) โ effective July 31, 2026
The law today
Texas requires a DSHS consumable hemp manufacturer license ($10,000/yr per location) to make, process or distribute consumable hemp products and a DSHS retail hemp registration ($5,000/yr per location, including online-only sellers) to sell them; both fees were restored to these levels in the rules adopted effective 2026-03-31 under Executive Order GA-56. Sales to anyone under 21 have been banned since 2025-10-02 (photo ID required), products need batch COAs from ISO 17025 labs with total THC (delta-9 plus THCa) at or below 0.3%, which effectively bars THCa flower, and cannabinoid vapes/e-cigarettes are a criminal offense; the state has not set a per-serving milligram cap.
SB 3 (2025), which would have banned most THC products, was vetoed in June 2025, so there is no statewide THC-product ban, but delta-8 is treated as a controlled substance except for naturally occurring trace amounts (DSHS schedule change effective 2026-07-31, still in litigation). Hemp growers get a TDA producer license and per-planting lot crop permit.
Who regulates it
Consumable hemp manufacturer licensing, retail hemp registration, product/testing/labeling rules (25 TAC ch. 300)
Texas Department of Agriculture โ Hemp Programtexasagriculture.gov (opens in a new tab)
Hemp producer license and lot crop permits (Agriculture Code ch. 122, 4 TAC ch. 24)
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commissiontabc.texas.gov (opens in a new tab)
Enforces 21+ and ID-check rules (16 TAC 35.5โ35.7) for TABC-licensed businesses that sell consumable hemp products
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Manufacturers/processors/distributors (license) and every retail location or online-only seller of consumable hemp products (registration)
- Fee
- Manufacturer license $10,000/yr per location (+ Texas Online fee โ $10,300); Retail hemp registration $5,000/yr per location (+ TOL fee โ $5,150)
- Who needs it
- All DSHS hemp licensees and registrants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
DSHS Consumable Hemp Product License process guidedshs.texas.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Manufacturer license applicants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Hemp growers
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Texas Health & Safety Code Chapter 443 โ Manufacture, Distribution, and Sale of Consumable Hemp Productsstatutes.capitol.texas.gov (opens in a new tab)
- 25 TAC Chapter 300 โ Consumable Hemp Products rules as adopted (effective 2026-03-31)dshs.texas.gov (opens in a new tab)
- DSHS Consumable Hemp Program โ Laws and Rules pagedshs.texas.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Governor's Executive Order GA-56 (2025-09-10) directing DSHS/TABC hemp rulesgov.texas.gov (opens in a new tab)
- SB 3 (89th Legislature, 2025) โ bill history (vetoed by the Governor)capitol.texas.gov (opens in a new tab)
- TABC โ Consumable Hemp Products (rules 35.5/35.6 age verification, 35.7 on-premise consumption)tabc.texas.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Texas
- 1
Register the business with the Texas Secretary of State and get a Texas sales and use tax permit from the Comptroller
- 2
Apply through the DSHS online licensing portal for the Consumable Hemp Manufacturer License ($10,000/yr, FBI fingerprint background check) and/or Retail Hemp Registration ($5,000/yr per location, also required for online-only sellers); display the registration at each location
- 3
Obtain a batch-specific COA from an ISO 17025-accredited lab for every product (total THC incl. THCa โค0.3%, contaminants) and print the COA URL, batch number, serving size and required warnings on child-resistant packaging
- 4
Verify every buyer is 21+ with a government photo ID; do not sell cannabinoid vapes/e-cigarettes or delta-8 products beyond trace levels
- 5
Keep production, testing, complaint and recall records for at least 3 years and expect unannounced DSHS/DPS/TABC inspections
- 6
Growers: get the TDA Hemp Producer License, then a Lot Crop Permit before each planting, and use a TDA-licensed sampler and registered lab before harvest
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Texas
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only ยท vendor state permit required).
Live status โ it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 โ every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence โ Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- statutes.capitol.texas.gov now renders client-side (JavaScript), so the HSC 443 link shows a blank shell to non-browser tools; it is the official statute link used by DSHS. The 2026 DSHS rules declined to add a per-serving THC cap or a synthetic-cannabinoid definition (flagged for future rulemaking). Smokable-hemp manufacturing ban (HSC 443.204) remains in litigation. The next regular legislative session is January 2027.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- Hemp delta-9 edibles, drinks and tinctures at or under 0.3% THC remain legal for adults 21+ with ID checks; delta-8/10, THCP and THCA flower are Schedule I; cannabinoid vapes banned. Out-of-state online retailers shipping into Texas need a DSHS retail hemp registration. Federal suit: TRO denied 2026-08-10. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- What is still legal under Texas' latest THC ban (Texas Tribune)texastribune.org (opens in a new tab) ยท 2026-07-30
โThe ban applies to all synthetically created THC forms, including delta-8, delta-10, THCP and THCA flower; delta-9 edibles, drinks and tinctures with no more than 0.3% THC remain legal for adults 21+.โ
Texas hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Texas sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Texas?
- Yes. Official link: DSHS Consumable Hemp Licensing & Registration (manufacturer license / retail registration) (dshs.texas.gov) โ fee: Manufacturer license $10,000/yr per location (+ Texas Online fee โ $10,300); Retail hemp registration $5,000/yr per location (+ TOL fee โ $5,150). Growers license separately through the state hemp program or USDA.
- Who regulates hemp in Texas?
- Texas Department of State Health Services โ Consumable Hemp Program โ Consumable hemp manufacturer licensing, retail hemp registration, product/testing/labeling rules (25 TAC ch. 300). Texas Department of Agriculture โ Hemp Program โ Hemp producer license and lot crop permits (Agriculture Code ch. 122, 4 TAC ch. 24). Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission โ Enforces 21+ and ID-check rules (16 TAC 35.5โ35.7) for TABC-licensed businesses that sell consumable hemp products.
- What are Texas's hemp laws in 2026?
- Texas requires a DSHS consumable hemp manufacturer license ($10,000/yr per location) to make, process or distribute consumable hemp products and a DSHS retail hemp registration ($5,000/yr per location, including online-only sellers) to sell them; both fees were restored to these levels in the rules adopted effective 2026-03-31 under Executive Order GA-56. Sales to anyone under 21 have been banned since 2025-10-02 (photo ID required), products need batch COAs from ISO 17025 labs with total THC (delta-9 plus THCa) at or below 0.3%, which effectively bars THCa flower, and cannabinoid vapes/e-cigarettes are a criminal offense; the state has not set a per-serving milligram cap. Key law: Tex. Health & Safety Code ch. 443; 25 TAC ยง300.101 (eff. 2026-03-31); DSHS Schedule I rule (upheld 2026-05-01); Exec. Order GA-56 (2025) (effective July 31, 2026).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Texas?
- 21+ under Texas law (Tex. Health & Safety Code ch. 443; 25 TAC ยง300.101 (eff. 2026-03-31); DSHS Schedule I rule (upheld 2026-05-01); Exec. Order GA-56 (2025)). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Texas cap THC in hemp products?
- Texas sets no state-level milligram cap in the verified dataset; the federal definition (total THC including THCA at or below 0.3% dry weight) applies, and the state law summary above lists any product rules.
- Does Texas require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- 25 TAC ch. 300 testing/COA rules (ISO 17025 lab, batch COA, THCa conversion, 3-year record retention). Official page: dshs.texas.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Texas?
- 1. Register the business with the Texas Secretary of State and get a Texas sales and use tax permit from the Comptroller. 2. Apply through the DSHS online licensing portal for the Consumable Hemp Manufacturer License ($10,000/yr, FBI fingerprint background check) and/or Retail Hemp Registration ($5,000/yr per location, also required for online-only sellers); display the registration at each location. 3. Obtain a batch-specific COA from an ISO 17025-accredited lab for every product (total THC incl. THCa โค0.3%, contaminants) and print the COA URL, batch number, serving size and required warnings on child-resistant packaging. 4. Verify every buyer is 21+ with a government photo ID; do not sell cannabinoid vapes/e-cigarettes or delta-8 products beyond trace levels. 5. Keep production, testing, complaint and recall records for at least 3 years and expect unannounced DSHS/DPS/TABC inspections. 6. Growers: get the TDA Hemp Producer License, then a Lot Crop Permit before each planting, and use a TDA-licensed sampler and registered lab before harvest.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change โ always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.