Hemp Laws & Licensing · TN
Tennessee hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- Yes — TABC Mockingbird portal – apply for HDCP Retailer, Supplier or Wholesaler license
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 15 mg THC per serving · 300 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Prohibited
- Key law
- TN Public Chapter 526 (2025) (HB 1376/SB 1413), Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-7-101 et seq. — effective January 1, 2026
The law today
Since 2026-01-01 Tennessee regulates hemp-derived cannabinoid products (delta-8, delta-10, HHC, THCv, hemp-derived delta-9, etc.) through the Alcoholic Beverage Commission under Public Chapter 526 (2025): suppliers ($2,500), wholesalers ($5,000) and each retail location ($1,000, plus $500 application fee) must hold TABC licenses, legacy Department of Agriculture licenses expired 2026-06-30, and from 2026-07-01 retailers may buy only from TABC-licensed wholesalers.
Sales are limited to adults 21+, ingestible products are capped at 15 mg cannabinoids per serving and 20 servings/300 mg per package (beverages max 2 servings per container), THCa above 0.3%, THCp and synthetic cannabinoids are excluded from lawful hemp, gas stations cannot hold retail licenses, and TABC retail licensees may not deliver or ship HDCPs to consumers. The old 6% retail sales tax was repealed 2026-01-01 and replaced by a wholesale tax ($0.02/mg, $4.40/gal, $50/oz flower) plus $300/brand annual registration with the Department of Revenue; hemp growers are still licensed by the Department of Agriculture.
Who regulates it
Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC)tn.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses hemp-derived cannabinoid product (HDCP) suppliers, wholesalers and retailers and enforces product rules (since 2026-01-01)
Tennessee Department of Agriculture – Hemp Programtn.gov (opens in a new tab)
Hemp producer (grower) licensing
Tennessee Department of Revenuetn.gov (opens in a new tab)
HDCP wholesale tax and $300/brand annual brand registration
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Every physical retail location selling HDCPs (21+ stores; gas stations ineligible since 2026-01-01), manufacturers/brand owners (supplier) and distributors (wholesaler)
- Fee
- Retailer $1,000/yr; Supplier $2,500/yr; Wholesaler $5,000/yr; plus $500 application fee each
TABC HDCP applicant guides (retail; supplier & wholesaler)tn.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- All HDCP license applicants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
TABC fee scheduletn.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- All HDCP license applicants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- All HDCP businesses
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
TDA Hemp Producer License (online application)tnlcp.lcp.tracefirst.com (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone growing hemp (per person, per location); license year ends June 30
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
TDA Hemp Producer Licensing pagetn.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Hemp growers
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Wholesalers (tax) and suppliers (brand registration)
- Fee
- $300 per brand per year; wholesale tax $0.02/mg cannabinoid, $4.40/gal liquids (+10% of wholesale cost for inhalable liquids), $50/oz for flower
The law
- Public Chapter 526 (2025) – HB 1376 / SB 1413, T.C.A. Title 57, Chapter 7 (effective 2026-01-01)publications.tnsosfiles.com (opens in a new tab)
- SB 1413 / HB 1376 (2025) – legislature bill pagewapp.capitol.tn.gov (opens in a new tab)
- TABC Rules Chapter 0100-16 – Rules for Retail Sale of Hemp-Derived Cannabinoid Products (permanent rules eff. 2026-06-09)publications.tnsosfiles.com (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Revenue Notice 25-11 – Taxability of HDCPs (6% retail tax repealed; wholesale tax from 2026-01-01)tn.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Tennessee
- 1
Register the business with the TN Secretary of State and obtain a TN Department of Revenue sales tax account
- 2
Create a TABC Mockingbird account and apply for the HDCP Retailer ($1,000/yr + $500), Supplier ($2,500/yr + $500) and/or Wholesaler ($5,000/yr + $500) license; each retail location needs its own license and must restrict entry to 21+ (or use an approved alternative)
- 3
Suppliers: register every brand with the Department of Revenue ($300/brand/yr) and keep COAs from a TABC-approved lab for each batch (total THC ≤0.3%, no THCp/synthetics, ≤15 mg per serving)
- 4
Wholesalers: file the monthly HDCP wholesale tax return on TNTAP by the 20th
- 5
Retailers: buy only from TABC-licensed wholesalers (from 2026-07-01), verify age 21+, no vending machines/self-checkout, and no delivery or shipment to consumers
- 6
Growers: keep the TDA hemp producer license (renews by July 15) and get TABC supplier/retail licenses if you process or sell products
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Tennessee
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Tennessee: state law doesn't allow these products to be sold online or shipped to consumers.
State law: no online sales.
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence — Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- publications.tnsosfiles.com PDFs return 403 to some automated fetchers but load in a browser (verified 200 with a browser user agent). TABC's March 2026 sweep found 650+ unlicensed retailers; unlicensed sale is a Class A misdemeanor. The TDA page does not list the producer license fee (it is invoiced at renewal).
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- Regulation moved to the TN ABC on 2026-01-01; all consumer sales must be face-to-face at a licensed retail location — direct-to-consumer shipping, delivery and mail order are banned (fines $1,000–$10,000, seizure). Products over 0.3% total THC/THCA phased out by 2026-07-01. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Can You Ship Hemp Products to Tennessee? 2026 Rules (Hemp Law Group)hemplawgroup.com (opens in a new tab) · 2026-04-15
“All sales of HDCPs and transfers of product from a retailer to consumer must take place at a licensed retail location in a face-to-face transaction.”
Tennessee hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Tennessee sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Tennessee?
- Yes. Official link: TABC Mockingbird portal – apply for HDCP Retailer, Supplier or Wholesaler license (mockingbird.abc.tn.gov) — fee: Retailer $1,000/yr; Supplier $2,500/yr; Wholesaler $5,000/yr; plus $500 application fee each. Growers license separately through the state hemp program or USDA.
- Who regulates hemp in Tennessee?
- Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) — Licenses hemp-derived cannabinoid product (HDCP) suppliers, wholesalers and retailers and enforces product rules (since 2026-01-01). Tennessee Department of Agriculture – Hemp Program — Hemp producer (grower) licensing. Tennessee Department of Revenue — HDCP wholesale tax and $300/brand annual brand registration.
- What are Tennessee's hemp laws in 2026?
- Since 2026-01-01 Tennessee regulates hemp-derived cannabinoid products (delta-8, delta-10, HHC, THCv, hemp-derived delta-9, etc.) through the Alcoholic Beverage Commission under Public Chapter 526 (2025): suppliers ($2,500), wholesalers ($5,000) and each retail location ($1,000, plus $500 application fee) must hold TABC licenses, legacy Department of Agriculture licenses expired 2026-06-30, and from 2026-07-01 retailers may buy only from TABC-licensed wholesalers. Sales are limited to adults 21+, ingestible products are capped at 15 mg cannabinoids per serving and 20 servings/300 mg per package (beverages max 2 servings per container), THCa above 0.3%, THCp and synthetic cannabinoids are excluded from lawful hemp, gas stations cannot hold retail licenses, and TABC retail licensees may not deliver or ship HDCPs to consumers. Key law: TN Public Chapter 526 (2025) (HB 1376/SB 1413), Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-7-101 et seq. (effective January 1, 2026).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Tennessee?
- 21+ under Tennessee law (TN Public Chapter 526 (2025) (HB 1376/SB 1413), Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-7-101 et seq.). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Tennessee cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes — 15 mg THC per serving · 300 mg per package under TN Public Chapter 526 (2025) (HB 1376/SB 1413), Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-7-101 et seq. Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does Tennessee require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- TABC Rule 0100-16-.06 Inspections and Testing (COA from approved lab; total THC = delta-9 + 0.877 x THCa ≤0.3%). Official page: publications.tnsosfiles.com
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Tennessee?
- 1. Register the business with the TN Secretary of State and obtain a TN Department of Revenue sales tax account. 2. Create a TABC Mockingbird account and apply for the HDCP Retailer ($1,000/yr + $500), Supplier ($2,500/yr + $500) and/or Wholesaler ($5,000/yr + $500) license; each retail location needs its own license and must restrict entry to 21+ (or use an approved alternative). 3. Suppliers: register every brand with the Department of Revenue ($300/brand/yr) and keep COAs from a TABC-approved lab for each batch (total THC ≤0.3%, no THCp/synthetics, ≤15 mg per serving). 4. Wholesalers: file the monthly HDCP wholesale tax return on TNTAP by the 20th. 5. Retailers: buy only from TABC-licensed wholesalers (from 2026-07-01), verify age 21+, no vending machines/self-checkout, and no delivery or shipment to consumers. 6. Growers: keep the TDA hemp producer license (renews by July 15) and get TABC supplier/retail licenses if you process or sell products.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.