Hemp Laws & Licensing ยท NM
New Mexico hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No โ retailers selling prepackaged hemp products need no NMED permit but products must come from permitted manufacturersโฆ
- Minimum age
- No state age rule stated
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 2 mg THC per serving ยท 20 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products ยท online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) ยท online: Allowed
- Key law
- NM 20.10.2 NMAC โ NMED Hemp Program final rule under the Hemp Manufacturing Act โ effective January 28, 2026
The law today
New Mexico licenses hemp growers through NMDA and requires NMED Cannabis & Hemp Bureau permits ($1,000) for hemp extraction, manufacturing and warehouse facilities; retailers selling prepackaged hemp products need no NMED permit but products must come from permitted manufacturers. The 20.10.2 NMAC final rule (effective Jan 28, 2026, making the Aug 1, 2025 emergency rule permanent; 60-day label/test transition to Mar 28, 2026) caps hemp finished products at 0.3% total THC and generally 2 mg total THC per serving and 20 mg per package (tinctures 100 mg/package), permanently bans synthetic and semi-synthetic cannabinoids such as delta-8 converted from CBD, requires COAs from NMED-approved labs, pesticide testing, food-handler cards and new warning labels, and creates a $500 Hemp Retail Manufacturer permit.
Intoxicating cannabis products are sold only through Cannabis Control Division licensees to adults 21+; CCD Bulletin 26-05 (May 29, 2026) requires cannabis licensees that use hemp extract to hold an NMED hemp warehouse permit.
Who regulates it
New Mexico Department of Agriculture โ Hemp Programnmdeptag.nmsu.edu (opens in a new tab)
Hemp production (cultivation) licensing under the USDA-approved state plan
Permits hemp extraction, manufacturing, warehouse and retail-manufacturing facilities and regulates hemp finished products (20.10.2 NMAC, Hemp Manufacturing Act)
NM Regulation & Licensing Department โ Cannabis Control Divisionrld.nm.gov (opens in a new tab)
Adult-use/medical cannabis licensing; issues bulletins on hemp-extract permits for cannabis licensees
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: New Mexico Cannabis Control Division (Regulation & Licensing Department)rld.nm.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Hemp growers (field or indoor), breeders, nurseries
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Anyone manufacturing hemp products for human ingestion/absorption or smoking, extracting, drying/processing hemp flower, or storing hemp extract; retailers of prepackaged products do not need a permit
- Fee
- $1,000 nonrefundable application/permit fee; new Hemp Retail Manufacturer permit $500/yr; late renewal $200; reinspection $500
NMED Hemp Final Rule page (20.10.2 NMAC, effective Jan 28, 2026)env.nm.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- All hemp manufacturers, warehouses and product sellers โ potency, labeling, testing rules
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- NMED Rules and Statutes โ Hemp Manufacturing Act and 20.10.2 NMACenv.nm.gov (opens in a new tab)
- 20.10.2 NMAC Hemp Program Rule (final, eff. 1/28/2026) โ PDFenv.nm.gov (opens in a new tab)
- NMED Hemp Final Rule training presentation (limits, permits, fees)env.nm.gov (opens in a new tab)
- CCD Industry Bulletin 26-05 (May 29, 2026) โ hemp warehouse permit required for cannabis licensees using hemp extractrld.nm.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in New Mexico
- 1
Register the business with the NM Secretary of State and obtain a CRS/tax ID from Taxation & Revenue
- 2
Growers: apply for an NMDA annual or continuous hemp production license
- 3
Extractors/manufacturers/warehouses: apply to NMED Cannabis & Hemp Bureau for the applicable hemp facility permit ($1,000) and obtain food handler cards for manufacturing staff
- 4
Formulate products to 20.10.2 NMAC limits (โค0.3% total THC; โค2 mg THC/serving, โค20 mg/package for most products) with no synthetic/semi-synthetic cannabinoids
- 5
Test every finished product at an NMED-approved lab and label per the 2026 rule (THC/CBD per serving and package, warnings, QR option)
- 6
Retailers: stock only products from NMED-permitted manufacturers; intoxicating products go through CCD-licensed cannabis retailers
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in New Mexico
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only ยท state caps: 2 mg THC per serving, 20 mg per package).
Live status โ it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 โ every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence โ Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- The Hemp Manufacturing Act statute link NMED publishes (https://nmonesource.com/nmos/nmsa-unanno/en/item/18579/index.do, NMSA 1978 ch. 76 art. 24) returned HTTP 403 to automated fetching and is therefore only referenced via the NMED rules page. 2025 HB 346 (hemp-derived products) passed the House but was not confirmed enacted. NMDA fee schedule not shown on its pages.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- Hemp finished products limited to 2 mg total THC per serving and 20 mg per package; semi-synthetic and synthetic cannabinoids prohibited. The rule binds NM-permitted facilities and reach over out-of-state sellers is limited; GHD applies the caps to every product sold into NM and gates 21+. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- 20.10.2 NMAC โ Hemp Final Rule, effective January 28, 2026 (New Mexico Environment Department)env.nm.gov (opens in a new tab) ยท 2026-01-28
โHemp finished products shall contain no more than 2.0 milligrams of Total THC per serving and no more than 20 milligrams of Total THC per package; facilities shall not sell semi-synthetic cannabinoids or synthetic cannabinoids.โ
New Mexico hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official New Mexico sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in New Mexico?
- New Mexico does not issue a hemp retail license: retailers selling prepackaged hemp products need no NMED permit but products must come from permitted manufacturers. Official link: NMED hemp permits โ FAQs (manufacturing, extraction, warehouse permits; $1,000 application/permit fee) (env.nm.gov) โ fee: $1,000 nonrefundable application/permit fee; new Hemp Retail Manufacturer permit $500/yr; late renewal $200; reinspection $500. Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in New Mexico?
- New Mexico Department of Agriculture โ Hemp Program โ Hemp production (cultivation) licensing under the USDA-approved state plan. New Mexico Environment Department โ Cannabis and Hemp Bureau (Hemp Program) โ Permits hemp extraction, manufacturing, warehouse and retail-manufacturing facilities and regulates hemp finished products (20.10.2 NMAC, Hemp Manufacturing Act). NM Regulation & Licensing Department โ Cannabis Control Division โ Adult-use/medical cannabis licensing; issues bulletins on hemp-extract permits for cannabis licensees. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: New Mexico Cannabis Control Division (Regulation & Licensing Department).
- What are New Mexico's hemp laws in 2026?
- New Mexico licenses hemp growers through NMDA and requires NMED Cannabis & Hemp Bureau permits ($1,000) for hemp extraction, manufacturing and warehouse facilities; retailers selling prepackaged hemp products need no NMED permit but products must come from permitted manufacturers. The 20.10.2 NMAC final rule (effective Jan 28, 2026, making the Aug 1, 2025 emergency rule permanent; 60-day label/test transition to Mar 28, 2026) caps hemp finished products at 0.3% total THC and generally 2 mg total THC per serving and 20 mg per package (tinctures 100 mg/package), permanently bans synthetic and semi-synthetic cannabinoids such as delta-8 converted from CBD, requires COAs from NMED-approved labs, pesticide testing, food-handler cards and new warning labels, and creates a $500 Hemp Retail Manufacturer permit. Key law: NM 20.10.2 NMAC โ NMED Hemp Program final rule under the Hemp Manufacturing Act (effective January 28, 2026).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in New Mexico?
- New Mexico states no minimum age for hemp products in the sources verified September 29, 2026; Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does New Mexico cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes โ 2 mg THC per serving ยท 20 mg per package under NM 20.10.2 NMAC โ NMED Hemp Program final rule under the Hemp Manufacturing Act. Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does New Mexico require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- NMED hemp FAQs โ testing at NMED-approved laboratories; COAs required (20.10.2.14 NMAC). Official page: env.nm.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in New Mexico?
- 1. Register the business with the NM Secretary of State and obtain a CRS/tax ID from Taxation & Revenue. 2. Growers: apply for an NMDA annual or continuous hemp production license. 3. Extractors/manufacturers/warehouses: apply to NMED Cannabis & Hemp Bureau for the applicable hemp facility permit ($1,000) and obtain food handler cards for manufacturing staff. 4. Formulate products to 20.10.2 NMAC limits (โค0.3% total THC; โค2 mg THC/serving, โค20 mg/package for most products) with no synthetic/semi-synthetic cannabinoids. 5. Test every finished product at an NMED-approved lab and label per the 2026 rule (THC/CBD per serving and package, warnings, QR option). 6. Retailers: stock only products from NMED-permitted manufacturers; intoxicating products go through CCD-licensed cannabis retailers.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change โ always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.