Hemp Laws & Licensing · UT
Utah hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- Yes — Industrial Hemp Retailer Permit (apply in AIMS)
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 5 mg THC per serving · 150 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Allowed
- Key law
- Utah Code §§ 4-41-102, 4-41-103.3; HB 54 (2025); HB 389 (2026) — effective May 7, 2025
The law today
Utah requires every retailer of hemp cannabinoid products, including online sellers, to hold an annual UDAF Industrial Hemp Retailer Permit ($100), and every product must be registered with UDAF before sale with a UDAF-lab cannabinoid COA and a full-panel COA. Registered products must contain less than 0.3% total THC, no more than 5 mg THC per serving and 150 mg per package, and THC plus analogs must be under 10% of total cannabinoids; any product with any THC or THC analog (including full-spectrum CBD) may not be sold to anyone under 21.
Smokable hemp flower, cannabinoid vapes/e-cigarettes, conventional foods and beverages infused with hemp, and child-appealing packaging are prohibited (gummies and tinctures are allowed). Cultivation has been licensed by USDA rather than the state since 2022, with growers registering with UDAF; processors need a UDAF cannabinoid product processor license.
Who regulates it
Utah Department of Agriculture and Food – Industrial Hemp Programag.utah.gov (opens in a new tab)
Cannabinoid product processor licenses, industrial hemp retailer permits, cannabinoid product registration, producer registration (cultivation licensed by USDA)
Hemp cultivation licensing for Utah growers (since 2022)
Licenses & registrations
Industrial Hemp Retailer Permit (apply in AIMS)ag.utah.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Any retailer that markets, sells or distributes industrial hemp cannabinoid products in Utah, including online sellers
- Fee
- $100/yr ($25 late fee)
Cannabinoid Product Registration (annual, before sale)ag.utah.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Brand owners/manufacturers of every cannabinoid product sold in Utah, in-state or out-of-state
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
Industrial Hemp Processor Licenseag.utah.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone processing hemp into cannabinoid products in Utah
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
Industrial Hemp Producer Registrationag.utah.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- USDA-licensed growers cultivating in Utah
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- All UDAF hemp applicants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Utah Code Title 4, Chapter 41 – Hemp and Cannabinoid Actle.utah.gov (opens in a new tab)
- UDAF Industrial Hemp Program – Laws and Rules (links to Utah Admin. Code R66-30 processors, R66-31 testing, R66-33 producers, R66-34 retailer permit, R66-35 product registration/labeling)ag.utah.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Utah Code § 4-41-103 – hemp and cannabinoid product requirementsle.utah.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Utah
- 1
Register the business with the Utah Division of Corporations and obtain a Utah sales tax license
- 2
Create an AIMS account (agbusiness.utah.gov) and apply for the Industrial Hemp Retailer Permit ($100/yr) for each retail business, including online storefronts
- 3
Register every cannabinoid product with UDAF before selling it (UDAF lab cannabinoid COA + full-panel third-party COA; compliant label per R66-35); sell only products on UDAF's registered-products list
- 4
Keep products within 5 mg THC/serving, 150 mg/package, <0.3% total THC and no smokable flower or vape formats
- 5
Verify age 21+ for any product containing THC or THC analogs (including full-spectrum CBD)
- 6
Processors: obtain the UDAF processor license; growers: get a USDA producer license and register as a producer with UDAF
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Utah
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only · vendor state permit required · state caps: 5 mg THC per serving, 150 mg per package).
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence — Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- The Utah Administrative Code site (adminrules.utah.gov) is a JavaScript app whose deep links to R66-34/R66-35 return 404 to non-browser fetches, so the rules are linked through UDAF's Laws and Rules page instead. agbusiness.utah.gov (AIMS) could not be TLS-verified through this session's proxy but is the application portal UDAF links to. Fees for product registration and the processor license are not shown on UDAF pages (set in AIMS).
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- 5 mg THC (+analogs) per serving / 150 mg per package; THC must be under 10% of total cannabinoid content; naturally occurring cannabinoids only; every product registered annually with UDAF and sold by permitted retailers with 21+ ID checks. Unregistered or non-compliant shipments face UDAF stop-sale/seizure. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Enrolled Copy H.B. 389 Cannabis Amendments, 2026 General Session (Utah Legislature)le.utah.gov (opens in a new tab) · 2026-03
“A cannabinoid product ... does not exceed a total of THC and any THC analog that is greater than: (i) 5 milligrams per serving; and (ii) 150 milligrams per package ... check the identification ... to ensure the individual is at least 21 years old.”
Utah hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Utah sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Utah?
- Yes. Official link: Industrial Hemp Retailer Permit (apply in AIMS) (ag.utah.gov) — fee: $100/yr ($25 late fee). Growers license separately through the state hemp program or USDA.
- Who regulates hemp in Utah?
- Utah Department of Agriculture and Food – Industrial Hemp Program — Cannabinoid product processor licenses, industrial hemp retailer permits, cannabinoid product registration, producer registration (cultivation licensed by USDA). USDA Agricultural Marketing Service – Domestic Hemp Production Program — Hemp cultivation licensing for Utah growers (since 2022).
- What are Utah's hemp laws in 2026?
- Utah requires every retailer of hemp cannabinoid products, including online sellers, to hold an annual UDAF Industrial Hemp Retailer Permit ($100), and every product must be registered with UDAF before sale with a UDAF-lab cannabinoid COA and a full-panel COA. Registered products must contain less than 0.3% total THC, no more than 5 mg THC per serving and 150 mg per package, and THC plus analogs must be under 10% of total cannabinoids; any product with any THC or THC analog (including full-spectrum CBD) may not be sold to anyone under 21. Key law: Utah Code §§ 4-41-102, 4-41-103.3; HB 54 (2025); HB 389 (2026) (effective May 7, 2025).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Utah?
- 21+ under Utah law (Utah Code §§ 4-41-102, 4-41-103.3; HB 54 (2025); HB 389 (2026)). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Utah cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes — 5 mg THC per serving · 150 mg per package under Utah Code §§ 4-41-102, 4-41-103.3; HB 54 (2025); HB 389 (2026). Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does Utah require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- Cannabinoid product registration – cannabinoid-profile COA from UDAF lab plus full-panel third-party COA (R66-31/R66-35). Official page: ag.utah.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Utah?
- 1. Register the business with the Utah Division of Corporations and obtain a Utah sales tax license. 2. Create an AIMS account (agbusiness.utah.gov) and apply for the Industrial Hemp Retailer Permit ($100/yr) for each retail business, including online storefronts. 3. Register every cannabinoid product with UDAF before selling it (UDAF lab cannabinoid COA + full-panel third-party COA; compliant label per R66-35); sell only products on UDAF's registered-products list. 4. Keep products within 5 mg THC/serving, 150 mg/package, <0.3% total THC and no smokable flower or vape formats. 5. Verify age 21+ for any product containing THC or THC analogs (including full-spectrum CBD). 6. Processors: obtain the UDAF processor license; growers: get a USDA producer license and register as a producer with UDAF.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.