Hemp Laws & Licensing · PA
Pennsylvania hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — …Department of Agriculture ($150 new / $50 renewal) but has no license, age minimum, per-serving THC cap or testing…
- Minimum age
- No state age rule stated
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- No state cap stated
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Allowed
- Key law
- PA Act 92 of 2016 (Industrial Hemp Act); no state cannabinoid-product statute
The law today
Pennsylvania issues annual hemp growing and processing permits through the Department of Agriculture ($150 new / $50 renewal) but has no license, age minimum, per-serving THC cap or testing requirement for retail sale of hemp-derived consumables as of Sept 2026; hemp is defined at not more than 0.3% THC on a dry-weight basis, and products at or below that limit (including hemp-derived delta-9 and delta-8 products) are sold at general retail.
Hemp foods must be made in a PDA-registered food establishment, and PDA notes that only hulled hemp seed, hemp seed protein and hemp seed oil are FDA-recognized food ingredients. SB 49, which would create a Cannabis Control Board and exclude products over 0.4 mg total THC per container from the hemp definition, was defeated 23–27 in the Senate on June 10, 2026, then revived by a reconsideration motion with a final Senate vote scheduled for Sept 28, 2026 — its outcome was not confirmed at verification.
Medical marijuana is regulated by the Department of Health; the federal 0.4 mg/container redefinition will apply when it takes effect in late 2026.
Who regulates it
Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture – Hemp Programpa.gov (opens in a new tab)
Annual hemp growing and processing permits under the USDA-approved state plan; Bureau of Food Safety registration for hemp food products
Licenses & registrations
PA Hemp Program FAQs – permit requirements and feespa.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone growing, propagating or processing hemp (permit expires Dec 31; renew annually via PA Plants portal or paper form). Retailers/wholesalers of hemp products need no PDA hemp permit, but hemp food products require PDA Food Establishment registration
- Fee
- $150 new permit application; $50 renewal; plus FBI background check, sampling and THC testing costs
PA Hemp Program – growing permit details and reporting formspa.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Permitted growers (planting report within 10 days, sampling 30 days before harvest, harvest report by Nov 15)
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
PA Hemp Program landing page (applications for 2027 permits open Oct 1)pa.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Growers and processors
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- 3 Pa.C.S. Chapter 7 – Industrial Hemp (Act 92 of 2016 as amended) – official PA General Assembly statute pagepalegis.us (opens in a new tab)
- SB 49 (2025–26) – Cannabis Control Board bill with 0.4 mg/container hemp-THC restriction; failed 23–27 on June 10, 2026, reconsidered, Senate final vote scheduled Sept 28, 2026palegis.us (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
No state-specific COA page was found for Pennsylvania; the federal sampling and lab rules on the main page apply, and the licensing pages above carry any state testing rules.
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Pennsylvania
- 1
Register the business with the PA Department of State and obtain a sales tax license from the Department of Revenue
- 2
Growers and processors: apply to PDA for a hemp permit ($150 new / $50 renewal) via the PA Plants portal or paper form; file planting, sampling and harvest reports
- 3
Manufacturers of edible hemp products: register the facility with the PDA Bureau of Food Safety (Food Establishment registration)
- 4
Keep DEA-registered lab COAs showing ≤0.3% total THC; adopt 21+ sales and child-resistant packaging as policy and monitor SB 49 and the federal 0.4 mg/container rule
- 5
Check local ordinances and, for liquor-licensed premises, PLCB guidance before stocking hemp-THC products
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Pennsylvania
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only).
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence — Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- PA.gov hemp pages loaded 2026-09-29. The PA General Assembly (palegis.us / legis.state.pa.us) and PA Code & Bulletin sites block automated fetching (robots.txt), so the statute and SB 49 links are on the official domain but could not be machine-verified; SB 49 history (23–27 defeat June 10, 2026; reconsideration 29–21) is from LegiScan and Sen. Laughlin's office, and a Sept 28, 2026 Senate final vote was reported by The Marijuana Herald – check the bill page for the result. PLCB's reported 2023 advisory on hemp-THC in licensed premises was not verified. PA Department of Health Medical Marijuana Program page not fetched, so cannabis_agency is null.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- No state age, license or online rule (GHD gates 21+). SB 49 (Cannabis Control Board; excludes >0.4 mg total THC per container from 'hemp') failed 2026-06-10, was reconsidered and listed for final Senate passage 2026-09-28; would still need House passage. Monitor closely. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Pennsylvania Senate Rejects Bill To Regulate Marijuana And Restrict Hemp THC Products, But It May Be Revived (Marijuana Moment)marijuanamoment.net (opens in a new tab) · 2026-06-10
“Today, intoxicating hemp products are sold throughout every corner of Pennsylvania, in every Senate district, with zero oversight.”
Pennsylvania hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Pennsylvania sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Pennsylvania?
- Pennsylvania does not issue a hemp retail license: Department of Agriculture ($150 new / $50 renewal) but has no license, age minimum, per-serving THC cap or testing requirement for retail sale of hemp-derived consumables as of Sept 2026. Official link: PA Hemp Program FAQs – permit requirements and fees (pa.gov) — fee: $150 new permit application; $50 renewal; plus FBI background check, sampling and THC testing costs. Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Pennsylvania?
- Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture – Hemp Program — Annual hemp growing and processing permits under the USDA-approved state plan; Bureau of Food Safety registration for hemp food products.
- What are Pennsylvania's hemp laws in 2026?
- Pennsylvania issues annual hemp growing and processing permits through the Department of Agriculture ($150 new / $50 renewal) but has no license, age minimum, per-serving THC cap or testing requirement for retail sale of hemp-derived consumables as of Sept 2026; hemp is defined at not more than 0.3% THC on a dry-weight basis, and products at or below that limit (including hemp-derived delta-9 and delta-8 products) are sold at general retail. Hemp foods must be made in a PDA-registered food establishment, and PDA notes that only hulled hemp seed, hemp seed protein and hemp seed oil are FDA-recognized food ingredients. Key law: PA Act 92 of 2016 (Industrial Hemp Act); no state cannabinoid-product statute.
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Pennsylvania?
- Pennsylvania states no minimum age for hemp products in the sources verified September 29, 2026; Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Pennsylvania cap THC in hemp products?
- Pennsylvania sets no state-level milligram cap in the verified dataset; the federal definition (total THC including THCA at or below 0.3% dry weight) applies, and the state law summary above lists any product rules.
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Pennsylvania?
- 1. Register the business with the PA Department of State and obtain a sales tax license from the Department of Revenue. 2. Growers and processors: apply to PDA for a hemp permit ($150 new / $50 renewal) via the PA Plants portal or paper form; file planting, sampling and harvest reports. 3. Manufacturers of edible hemp products: register the facility with the PDA Bureau of Food Safety (Food Establishment registration). 4. Keep DEA-registered lab COAs showing ≤0.3% total THC; adopt 21+ sales and child-resistant packaging as policy and monitor SB 49 and the federal 0.4 mg/container rule. 5. Check local ordinances and, for liquor-licensed premises, PLCB guidance before stocking hemp-THC products.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.