Hemp Laws & Licensing · RI
Rhode Island hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- Yes — Cannabis Licensing Portal – apply for Hemp-Derived Consumable Retailer / Distributor license and Industrial Hemp…
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 1 mg THC per serving · 5 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Cannabis system only / banned · online: Prohibited
- Key law
- R.I. Gen. Laws § 2-26 (Hemp Growth Act); 560-RICR-10-20-1 (CCC hemp-derived consumables regulations) — effective December 8, 2025
The law today
Rhode Island licenses hemp-derived consumable product retailers and distributors through the Cannabis Control Commission's Cannabis Office (license $500/yr plus $250 application fee), and hemp growers/handlers under the same regulation. Products may be sold only to adults 21+ with government ID and are capped at 1 mg total THC per serving, 5 mg total THC per package and 0.3% total THC dry weight; every product needs a certificate of analysis from an approved lab before distribution.
Since July 2025 the Commission has a moratorium on issuing new hemp-consumable retail licenses to establishments holding on-premise alcohol licenses; its March 2026 beverage study recommended letting liquor stores sell hemp THC drinks, but the 2026 Hemp THC Beverage Act (S 3215) was held for study and did not pass. RI licensees were told the federal 0.4 mg total-THC-per-container limit takes effect 2026-12-11.
Who regulates it
Rhode Island Cannabis Control Commission – Cannabis Officeccc.ri.gov (opens in a new tab)
Regulates industrial hemp (grower/handler licenses) and hemp-derived consumable (CBD/THC) product distributor and retailer licenses
RI Cannabis Control Commission – Industrial Hemp Programccc.ri.gov (opens in a new tab)
Hemp grower, handler and dual grower/handler licensing
Former hemp regulator; pages still host hemp guidance documents and licensee lists
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Rhode Island Cannabis Control Commissionccc.ri.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Anyone selling hemp-derived consumable (CBD/low-THC) products at retail in RI, distributors supplying RI retailers, and hemp growers/handlers
- Fee
- Retailer or distributor: $500/yr + $250 application fee; grower/handler/dual: $2,500 per 2-year term + $250 application fee; $50 registry ID card per person (560-RICR-10-20-1)
- Who needs it
- Hemp consumable retailers and distributors
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
Cannabis and Hemp Licenses overview (all license types)ccc.ri.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- All applicants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
Approved CBD / hemp-derived consumable licensees listccc.ri.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Reference list for verifying licensed suppliers/retailers
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- R.I. Gen. Laws Title 2, Chapter 26 – Hemp Growth Actwebserver.rilegislature.gov (opens in a new tab)
- 560-RICR-10-20-1 – Rhode Island Industrial Hemp Program regulation (covers hemp-derived consumable products; amended eff. 2025-12-08)rules.sos.ri.gov (opens in a new tab)
- CCC Study on Hemp-Derived THC Infused Beverages (March 2026, submitted to the General Assembly)ccc.ri.gov (opens in a new tab)
- S 3215 (2026) – proposed Rhode Island Hemp THC Beverage Act (held for further study 2026-06-02; not enacted)webserver.rilegislature.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Rhode Island
- 1
Register the business with the RI Department of State (Secretary of State) and obtain a RI sales tax permit
- 2
Create an account on the Cannabis Licensing Portal (cannabislicensing.ri.gov) and apply for a Hemp-Derived Consumable Retailer and/or Distributor license ($250 application fee + $500 license fee); growers/handlers apply for the industrial hemp license ($2,500 per 2-year term)
- 3
Obtain a $50 registry ID card for each owner/employee handling hemp products
- 4
Ensure every product has a certificate of analysis from an approved lab and complies with the 1 mg/serving, 5 mg/package THC caps and RI labeling rules
- 5
Sell only to customers 21+ with government-issued ID; store hemp beverages separately as required
- 6
Submit the end-of-year product sales report through the licensing portal (due January 31 each year)
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Rhode Island
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Rhode Island: state law only allows these hemp products through its licensed cannabis system, if at all.
State law: cannabis system only.
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence — Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- ccc.ri.gov pages block command-line fetches (403) but load normally in a browser/fetch tool. The legacy dbr.ri.gov hemp pages still exist but the CCC Cannabis Office is now the regulator. The moratorium applies to new hemp-consumable retail licenses for on-premise alcohol license holders (July 18, 2025 vote); other applicants are still processed. Watch for CCC rulemaking on THC beverages in late 2026.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- 1 mg total THC per serving / 5 mg per package caps make intoxicating products unavailable outside cannabis retailers; in-state online delivery needs a CCC distributor/retail license. S 3215 (5 mg beverages) held for study 2026-06-02. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Cannabis Control Commission Study on Hemp-Derived THC Infused Beverages (RI CCC)ccc.ri.gov (opens in a new tab) · 2026-03
“post-harvest testing must demonstrate that hemp-derived THC-infused beverages do not exceed 1 mg of total THC per serving and 5 mgs of total THC per package.”
Rhode Island hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Rhode Island sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Rhode Island?
- Yes. Official link: Cannabis Licensing Portal – apply for Hemp-Derived Consumable Retailer / Distributor license and Industrial Hemp Grower / Handler license (cannabislicensing.ri.gov) — fee: Retailer or distributor: $500/yr + $250 application fee; grower/handler/dual: $2,500 per 2-year term + $250 application fee; $50 registry ID card per person (560-RICR-10-20-1). Growers license separately through the state hemp program or USDA.
- Who regulates hemp in Rhode Island?
- Rhode Island Cannabis Control Commission – Cannabis Office — Regulates industrial hemp (grower/handler licenses) and hemp-derived consumable (CBD/THC) product distributor and retailer licenses. RI Cannabis Control Commission – Industrial Hemp Program — Hemp grower, handler and dual grower/handler licensing. RI Department of Business Regulation – Office of Cannabis Regulation (legacy pages) — Former hemp regulator; pages still host hemp guidance documents and licensee lists. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Rhode Island Cannabis Control Commission.
- What are Rhode Island's hemp laws in 2026?
- Rhode Island licenses hemp-derived consumable product retailers and distributors through the Cannabis Control Commission's Cannabis Office (license $500/yr plus $250 application fee), and hemp growers/handlers under the same regulation. Products may be sold only to adults 21+ with government ID and are capped at 1 mg total THC per serving, 5 mg total THC per package and 0.3% total THC dry weight; every product needs a certificate of analysis from an approved lab before distribution. Key law: R.I. Gen. Laws § 2-26 (Hemp Growth Act); 560-RICR-10-20-1 (CCC hemp-derived consumables regulations) (effective December 8, 2025).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Rhode Island?
- 21+ under Rhode Island law (R.I. Gen. Laws § 2-26 (Hemp Growth Act); 560-RICR-10-20-1 (CCC hemp-derived consumables regulations)). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Rhode Island cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes — 1 mg THC per serving · 5 mg per package under R.I. Gen. Laws § 2-26 (Hemp Growth Act); 560-RICR-10-20-1 (CCC hemp-derived consumables regulations). Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does Rhode Island require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- 560-RICR-10-20-1 (certificate of analysis from an approved lab required before distribution; THC caps). Official page: rules.sos.ri.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Rhode Island?
- 1. Register the business with the RI Department of State (Secretary of State) and obtain a RI sales tax permit. 2. Create an account on the Cannabis Licensing Portal (cannabislicensing.ri.gov) and apply for a Hemp-Derived Consumable Retailer and/or Distributor license ($250 application fee + $500 license fee); growers/handlers apply for the industrial hemp license ($2,500 per 2-year term). 3. Obtain a $50 registry ID card for each owner/employee handling hemp products. 4. Ensure every product has a certificate of analysis from an approved lab and complies with the 1 mg/serving, 5 mg/package THC caps and RI labeling rules. 5. Sell only to customers 21+ with government-issued ID; store hemp beverages separately as required. 6. Submit the end-of-year product sales report through the licensing portal (due January 31 each year).
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.