Hemp Laws & Licensing · MD
Maryland hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — there is no state hemp-product retail license (growers register sites with MDA), and 2026 bills to create an MDA hemp…
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 0.5 mg THC per serving · 2.5 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Cannabis system only / banned · online: Prohibited
- Key law
- MD SB 214/HB 12 (2025), Ch. 58/57; ABCA §36-101 thresholds (Cannabis Reform Act 2023) — effective July 1, 2025
The law today
Since the Cannabis Reform Act took effect July 1, 2023, Maryland treats any hemp-derived product with more than 0.5 mg total THC (all isomers, including delta-8/10) per serving or 2.5 mg per package as cannabis that only Maryland Cannabis Administration-licensed dispensaries may sell to adults 21+; unlicensed sale is a misdemeanor with fines up to $5,000 (up to $10,000 for non-naturally occurring cannabinoids like THC-O), enforced by ATCC inspections and seizures.
A narrow exception allows unlicensed sale of hemp tinctures with at least a 15:1 CBD-to-THC ratio and no more than 2.5 mg THC per serving/100 mg per package, and low-THC CBD products (at or under the thresholds) remain lawful general-retail items. The Maryland Appellate Court upheld the law on September 9, 2025 and dissolved the 2023 injunction that had protected pre-existing hemp retailers, so enforcement is now statewide; there is no state hemp-product retail license (growers register sites with MDA), and 2026 bills to create an MDA hemp manufacturing license (HB 1631/SB 994) did not pass.
Who regulates it
Maryland Cannabis Administration (MCA)cannabis.maryland.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses cannabis dispensaries/processors; hemp-derived products above 0.5 mg THC per serving or 2.5 mg per package are cannabis and may be sold only by MCA licensees
Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco, and Cannabis Commission (ATCC)atcc.maryland.gov (opens in a new tab)
Field enforcement against unlicensed intoxicating hemp/THC sales (Advisory 24-004)
Maryland Department of Agriculture – Hemp Programmda.maryland.gov (opens in a new tab)
Registers hemp production sites (Hemp Farming Program); does not regulate processing or sales
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Maryland Cannabis Administrationcannabis.maryland.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
Maryland Hemp Production Application (Maryland OneStop)onestop.md.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone growing hemp in Maryland (site registration with MDA)
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Businesses wanting to sell products over 0.5 mg THC/serving or 2.5 mg/package must hold an MCA cannabis license
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Licensed dispensaries stocking hemp-derived products
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Md. Code, Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis §36-1102 – unlicensed sale of products over 0.5 mg THC/serving or 2.5 mg/package prohibited; tincture exceptionmgaleg.maryland.gov (opens in a new tab)
- HB 556 (2023) Cannabis Reform Act – Chapter 254mgaleg.maryland.gov (opens in a new tab)
- ATCC Advisory 24-004 – intoxicating hemp/THC products in the unlicensed marketatcc.maryland.gov (opens in a new tab)
- HB 1631 (2026) – proposed MDA hemp manufacturing license (did not pass)mgaleg.maryland.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Maryland
- 1
Register the business with the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation and obtain a Maryland sales and use tax license
- 2
Growers: submit the Hemp Production Application on Maryland OneStop to register each growing site with MDA (USDA-approved state plan)
- 3
General retailers (no cannabis license): sell only hemp products at or under 0.5 mg THC per serving and 2.5 mg per package (or qualifying 15:1 CBD tinctures up to 2.5 mg/serving, 100 mg/package with lab testing), and verify customers are 21+
- 4
Remove all delta-8/delta-10/THC-O and other intoxicating hemp products from unlicensed premises; products above the thresholds require an MCA dispensary license and MCA-compliant manufacturing/testing
- 5
Keep third-party COAs on file for every SKU showing per-serving and per-package THC
- 6
To enter the intoxicating market, apply in an MCA cannabis licensing round (dispensary/processor) and comply with COMAR 14.17 testing and packaging rules
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Maryland
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Maryland: state law only allows these hemp products through its licensed cannabis system, if at all.
State law: cannabis system only.
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence — Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- The 0.5 mg/2.5 mg thresholds are codified in Alc. Bev. & Cannabis §36-1102 (statute page verified). One industry source lists the thresholds as effective July 1, 2025; the statute dates from the 2023 Cannabis Reform Act (Ch. 254) and the 2025 date is the appellate ruling, not a new effective date. ATCC Advisory 24-004 predates the Sept 2025 ruling, so its reference to the 2023 injunction is obsolete.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- Products over 0.5 mg THC per serving or 2.5 mg per package may be sold only by licensed cannabis dispensaries; Appellate Court of Maryland (Sept 2025) held delta-8/10 products have always been illegal. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- THC Compliance Standards – Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco, and Cannabis Commissionatcc.maryland.gov (opens in a new tab) · 2026-03-24
“Products over these thresholds must be sold through a licensed dispensary and meet all state packaging and labeling requirements. Otherwise, they are considered non-compliant and subject to enforcement by the ATCC.”
Maryland hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Maryland sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Maryland?
- Maryland does not issue a hemp retail license: there is no state hemp-product retail license (growers register sites with MDA), and 2026 bills to create an MDA hemp manufacturing license (HB 1631/SB 994) did not pass. Official link: MCA industry licensees and registrants (cannabis dispensary/processor licensing – the only lawful channel for over-threshold hemp-derived THC products) (cannabis.maryland.gov). Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Maryland?
- Maryland Cannabis Administration (MCA) — Licenses cannabis dispensaries/processors; hemp-derived products above 0.5 mg THC per serving or 2.5 mg per package are cannabis and may be sold only by MCA licensees. Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco, and Cannabis Commission (ATCC) — Field enforcement against unlicensed intoxicating hemp/THC sales (Advisory 24-004). Maryland Department of Agriculture – Hemp Program — Registers hemp production sites (Hemp Farming Program); does not regulate processing or sales. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Maryland Cannabis Administration.
- What are Maryland's hemp laws in 2026?
- Since the Cannabis Reform Act took effect July 1, 2023, Maryland treats any hemp-derived product with more than 0.5 mg total THC (all isomers, including delta-8/10) per serving or 2.5 mg per package as cannabis that only Maryland Cannabis Administration-licensed dispensaries may sell to adults 21+; unlicensed sale is a misdemeanor with fines up to $5,000 (up to $10,000 for non-naturally occurring cannabinoids like THC-O), enforced by ATCC inspections and seizures. A narrow exception allows unlicensed sale of hemp tinctures with at least a 15:1 CBD-to-THC ratio and no more than 2.5 mg THC per serving/100 mg per package, and low-THC CBD products (at or under the thresholds) remain lawful general-retail items. Key law: MD SB 214/HB 12 (2025), Ch. 58/57; ABCA §36-101 thresholds (Cannabis Reform Act 2023) (effective July 1, 2025).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Maryland?
- 21+ under Maryland law (MD SB 214/HB 12 (2025), Ch. 58/57; ABCA §36-101 thresholds (Cannabis Reform Act 2023)). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Maryland cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes — 0.5 mg THC per serving · 2.5 mg per package under MD SB 214/HB 12 (2025), Ch. 58/57; ABCA §36-101 thresholds (Cannabis Reform Act 2023). Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does Maryland require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- MCA dispensary/processor guidance – over-threshold hemp-derived products must be manufactured, processed and tested under MCA regulations. Official page: cannabis.maryland.gov.pdf
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Maryland?
- 1. Register the business with the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation and obtain a Maryland sales and use tax license. 2. Growers: submit the Hemp Production Application on Maryland OneStop to register each growing site with MDA (USDA-approved state plan). 3. General retailers (no cannabis license): sell only hemp products at or under 0.5 mg THC per serving and 2.5 mg per package (or qualifying 15:1 CBD tinctures up to 2.5 mg/serving, 100 mg/package with lab testing), and verify customers are 21+. 4. Remove all delta-8/delta-10/THC-O and other intoxicating hemp products from unlicensed premises; products above the thresholds require an MCA dispensary license and MCA-compliant manufacturing/testing. 5. Keep third-party COAs on file for every SKU showing per-serving and per-package THC. 6. To enter the intoxicating market, apply in an MCA cannabis licensing round (dispensary/processor) and comply with COMAR 14.17 testing and packaging rules.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.