Hemp Laws & Licensing ยท OR
Oregon hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- Yes โ ODA Hemp Vendor Site License application
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 2 mg THC per serving ยท 20 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products ยท online sales
- Cannabis system only / banned ยท online: Prohibited
- Key law
- ORS 475C.550โ.600 (HB 3000, 2021); OAR 845-026-0400/-0410/-0415; HB 4121 (2024) OLCC Hemp Registry โ effective July 1, 2022
The law today
Oregon is a fully licensed market: ODA licenses growers ($350 + $875 per grow site), handlers ($2,275) and hemp vendor sites ($100 per retail/wholesale location), and since Jan 1, 2026 (HB 4121; OAR 845-026-6000โ6120) every cannabinoid hemp item sold to Oregon consumers or retailers โ including by out-of-state and online sellers โ must be registered with OLCC ($400 per item per year) with a certificate of analysis and an OLCC-compliant label, with OLCC enforcement (removal of unregistered products) starting June 1, 2026.
All hemp items must be at or below 0.3% total THC and OAR 845-026-0400 per-serving/container limits; hemp items containing 0.5 mg or more total THC or any artificially derived cannabinoid are 'adult use cannabis items' that may be sold only to adults 21+ with the required warning symbol, and artificially derived cannabinoids such as delta-8, delta-10, HHC and THC-O are prohibited unless specifically approved by OLCC.
Products must be tested for potency, pesticides and solvents under ODA/OHA rules, and civil penalties run up to $10,000 per violation.
Who regulates it
Oregon Department of Agriculture โ Hemp Programoregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
Hemp grower, handler (processor), seed and hemp vendor site licensing (ORS 571; OAR 603-048)
Registers every cannabinoid hemp item sold to Oregon consumers/retailers (from Jan 1, 2026); sets THC limits, adult-use (21+) rules and artificially derived cannabinoid ban
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commissionoregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
ODA Hemp Grower License application (Rev. 11/2025)oregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone cultivating hemp (apply by May 31; late applications to July 31 with $250 late fee; expires Dec 31)
- Fee
- $350 grower license + $875 per grow site + $75 per key participant
ODA Hemp Handler License application (2026)oregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- First processor of hemp into products or anyone processing hemp-derived cannabinoid products
- Fee
- $2,275/yr ($875 reciprocity license for OLCC marijuana processors with hemp endorsement)
ODA Hemp Vendor Site License applicationoregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Retailers and wholesalers that store, transfer or sell hemp products in Oregon (per site; July 1โJune 30)
- Fee
- $100/yr
OLCC Hemp Item Registration (CAMP portal) โ FAQsoregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Any manufacturer, packager or distributor (in or out of state, incl. online) of cannabinoid hemp items sold to Oregon consumers or retailers
- Fee
- $400 per item initial + $400 annual renewal; $25 label amendment
ODA Hemp Growers pageoregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Growers
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
ODA Hemp Handlers pageoregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Handlers/processors
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- ORS Chapter 571 (Oregon Hemp Act, ORS 571.260โ571.348)oregonlegislature.gov (opens in a new tab)
- ODA Hemp Laws and Rules page (OAR 603-048, OAR 333-007, OAR 603-048-0175 vendor license)oregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
- OLCC Hemp Product Registry rules, OAR 845-026-6000 to 6120 (eff. Jan 1, 2026)oregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
- OLCC bulletin HE2025-01 โ registry compliance enforcement began June 1, 2026oregon.gov (opens in a new tab)
- HB 4121 (2024), Ch. 16 โ created the OLCC hemp product registration systemolis.oregonlegislature.gov (opens in a new tab)
- HB 3000 (2021), Ch. 542 โ adult use cannabis items, artificially derived cannabinoids, OLCC authority over hemp itemsolis.oregonlegislature.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Oregon
- 1
Register the business with the Oregon Secretary of State
- 2
Growers: apply to ODA for a hemp grower license by May 31 ($350 + $875 per grow site + $75 per key participant) and use the ODA hemp map tool
- 3
Processors: apply for the ODA hemp handler license ($2,275/yr)
- 4
Retailers/wholesalers: obtain an ODA hemp vendor site license ($100/yr) for each site that stores or sells hemp products
- 5
Manufacturers/distributors (incl. out-of-state/online): register each hemp item with OLCC via CAMP ($400/item/yr) with COA and compliant label before selling into Oregon
- 6
Test every item for potency, pesticides and solvents at an accredited lab; restrict items โฅ0.5 mg total THC to 21+ and never sell artificially derived cannabinoids
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Oregon
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Oregon: state law only allows these hemp products through its licensed cannabis system, if at all.
State law: cannabis system only.
Live status โ it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 โ every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence โ Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- All ODA/OLCC/legislature links loaded 2026-09-29. Handler fee from the Rev. 4/2026 application; grower fees from the Rev. 11/2025 application (the SOS License Directory shows the same figures). The CAMP registry portal (https://camp.olcc.online/prod/webui/) was not fetched directly. Exact mg-per-serving limits live in OAR 845-026-0400 (linked from the OLCC FAQ) and were not itemized here.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- Intoxicating-dose products are 'adult use cannabis items' sold only by OLCC-licensed marijuana retailers; general-market hemp capped at 2 mg/serving and 20 mg/container; artificially derived cannabinoids prohibited. Since 2026-01-01 online sellers to Oregon consumers must be on the OLCC Hemp Registry. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Is Delta 9 Legal in Oregon? 2026 Legal Guideatlrx.com (opens in a new tab) ยท 2026-09-12
โAdult-use cannabis items ... must be sold like marijuana: age-restricted to 21 and older and routed through the licensed cannabis system. Artificially derived cannabinoids are prohibited.โ
Oregon hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Oregon sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Oregon?
- Yes. Official link: ODA Hemp Vendor Site License application (oregon.gov) โ fee: $100/yr. Growers license separately through the state hemp program or USDA.
- Who regulates hemp in Oregon?
- Oregon Department of Agriculture โ Hemp Program โ Hemp grower, handler (processor), seed and hemp vendor site licensing (ORS 571; OAR 603-048). Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) โ Hemp Product Registry โ Registers every cannabinoid hemp item sold to Oregon consumers/retailers (from Jan 1, 2026); sets THC limits, adult-use (21+) rules and artificially derived cannabinoid ban. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission.
- What are Oregon's hemp laws in 2026?
- Oregon is a fully licensed market: ODA licenses growers ($350 + $875 per grow site), handlers ($2,275) and hemp vendor sites ($100 per retail/wholesale location), and since Jan 1, 2026 (HB 4121; OAR 845-026-6000โ6120) every cannabinoid hemp item sold to Oregon consumers or retailers โ including by out-of-state and online sellers โ must be registered with OLCC ($400 per item per year) with a certificate of analysis and an OLCC-compliant label, with OLCC enforcement (removal of unregistered products) starting June 1, 2026. All hemp items must be at or below 0.3% total THC and OAR 845-026-0400 per-serving/container limits; hemp items containing 0.5 mg or more total THC or any artificially derived cannabinoid are 'adult use cannabis items' that may be sold only to adults 21+ with the required warning symbol, and artificially derived cannabinoids such as delta-8, delta-10, HHC and THC-O are prohibited unless specifically approved by OLCC. Key law: ORS 475C.550โ.600 (HB 3000, 2021); OAR 845-026-0400/-0410/-0415; HB 4121 (2024) OLCC Hemp Registry (effective July 1, 2022).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Oregon?
- 21+ under Oregon law (ORS 475C.550โ.600 (HB 3000, 2021); OAR 845-026-0400/-0410/-0415; HB 4121 (2024) OLCC Hemp Registry). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Oregon cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes โ 2 mg THC per serving ยท 20 mg per package under ORS 475C.550โ.600 (HB 3000, 2021); OAR 845-026-0400/-0410/-0415; HB 4121 (2024) OLCC Hemp Registry. Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does Oregon require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- OLCC General Market Hemp FAQ โ ODA/OHA testing (potency, pesticides, solvents), COA required, OAR 845-026-0400 concentration limits. Official page: oregon.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Oregon?
- 1. Register the business with the Oregon Secretary of State. 2. Growers: apply to ODA for a hemp grower license by May 31 ($350 + $875 per grow site + $75 per key participant) and use the ODA hemp map tool. 3. Processors: apply for the ODA hemp handler license ($2,275/yr). 4. Retailers/wholesalers: obtain an ODA hemp vendor site license ($100/yr) for each site that stores or sells hemp products. 5. Manufacturers/distributors (incl. out-of-state/online): register each hemp item with OLCC via CAMP ($400/item/yr) with COA and compliant label before selling into Oregon. 6. Test every item for potency, pesticides and solvents at an accredited lab; restrict items โฅ0.5 mg total THC to 21+ and never sell artificially derived cannabinoids.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change โ always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.