Hemp Laws & Licensing · MO
Missouri hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — …2026 Missouri has no state license, age limit or THC cap for consumable hemp products (growers license through USDA…
- Minimum age
- No state age rule stated
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- No state cap stated
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Allowed
- Key law
- MO HB 2641 (2026) – ban effective 2026-11-12; RSMo 195.010 hemp exclusion today — effective November 12, 2026
The law today
Until November 12, 2026 Missouri has no state license, age limit or THC cap for consumable hemp products (growers license through USDA since the state program ended January 1, 2023), though the Attorney General has pursued consumer-protection actions against mislabeled intoxicating products. HB 2641, signed by Governor Kehoe in April 2026 (Intoxicating Cannabinoid Control Act), takes effect November 12, 2026: hemp-derived cannabinoid products with more than 0.4 mg combined total THC per container are redefined as marijuana that only DHSS-licensed marijuana facilities may cultivate, manufacture, test, transport or sell (21+ dispensary rules), with a $5,000-per-transaction fine and class D felony for violators, enforced by the Attorney General together with DHSS, the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control and the Highway Patrol; some provisions apply only while federal restrictions on those products are in force, so the federal delay to December 11, 2026 creates uncertainty, and a hemp-industry lawsuit filed July 17, 2026 in the Western District of Missouri challenges the law as vague (no injunction reported as of that filing).
Who regulates it
Licenses marijuana facilities; under HB 2641 (2026) hemp-derived cannabinoid products become 'marijuana' that only licensed facilities may make or sell from Nov 12, 2026
Missouri Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (DPS)atc.dps.mo.gov (opens in a new tab)
Concurrent enforcement authority over intoxicating hemp products under HB 2641
USDA Domestic Hemp Production Programams.usda.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses Missouri hemp growers (state MDA program ended; USDA administration since Jan 1, 2023)
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Missouri DHSS Division of Cannabis Regulationhealth.mo.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
USDA hemp producer license (Missouri growers)ams.usda.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone cultivating hemp in Missouri (no state license; USDA license is free)
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Businesses wanting to manufacture or sell hemp-derived cannabinoid products above 0.4 mg total THC per container after the Intoxicating Cannabinoid Control Act takes effect
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- HB 2641 (2026) – Intoxicating Cannabinoid Control Act, Truly Agreed and Finally Passed textdocuments.house.mo.gov (opens in a new tab)
- HB 2641 (2026) – Missouri House bill page (Governor action complete)house.mo.gov (opens in a new tab)
- HB 2641 – Truly Agreed bill summarydocuments.house.mo.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
No state-specific COA page was found for Missouri; the federal sampling and lab rules on the main page apply, and the licensing pages above carry any state testing rules.
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Missouri
- 1
Register the business with the Missouri Secretary of State and obtain a Department of Revenue sales tax license
- 2
Growers: apply for a USDA hemp producer license (HeMP platform) - Missouri no longer issues state licenses
- 3
Before Nov 12, 2026: sell only accurately labeled hemp products with COAs, avoid marketing to minors and adopt 21+ ID checks (AG consumer-protection enforcement is active)
- 4
Plan to remove all intoxicating hemp products (THC seltzers, edibles, delta-8, THCA flower) with more than 0.4 mg total THC per container from general retail by Nov 12, 2026, or obtain a DHSS marijuana facility license to sell them through the licensed system
- 5
Do not use the word 'dispensary' in an unlicensed business name (class D felony under HB 2641)
- 6
Monitor the federal court challenge and any DHSS/AG guidance on how the federal delay to Dec 11, 2026 affects the state effective date
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Missouri
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only · closes November 12, 2026).
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence — Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- The Missouri Department of Agriculture no longer hosts an industrial hemp page (agriculture.mo.gov/plants/industrial-hemp returns 404), consistent with the 2023 transfer to USDA; USDA is listed as the grower path. HB 2641's interaction with the federal delay (H.R. 6500 moving the federal definition change to 2026-12-11) is unresolved - reporting says the state ban stays in force except for intoxicating beverages if Congress delays, so treat the Nov 12, 2026 date and beverage treatment as pending. Litigation (MNG 2005/CBD Kratom, Missouri Hemp Trade Association) was pending as of July 2026. Missouri RSMo section numbers created by HB 2641 were not confirmed and are omitted.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- STATE SUNSET: HB 2641 (signed 2026-04-23) reclassifies hemp products over 0.4 mg total THC per container as marijuana from 2026-11-12 (dispensary-only). Federal vagueness suit pending, no injunction as of 2026-08-28. Today no state age limit, license or potency cap. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Missouri says its intoxicating hemp ban is clear. Industry says it's unconstitutional (Missouri Independent)missouriindependent.com (opens in a new tab) · 2026-08-28
“Intoxicating hemp products remain legal to sell in Missouri until HB 2641 takes effect Nov. 12, 2026; the state says any product over 0.4 mg THC per container is treated as marijuana (close paraphrase).”
Missouri hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Missouri sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Missouri?
- Missouri does not issue a hemp retail license: 2026 Missouri has no state license, age limit or THC cap for consumable hemp products (growers license through USDA since the state program ended January 1, 2023), though the Attorney General has pursued consumer-protection actions against mislabeled intoxicating products. Official link: DHSS Division of Cannabis Regulation – marijuana facility licensing (the only lawful channel for intoxicating hemp-derived products from Nov 12, 2026) (health.mo.gov). Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Missouri?
- Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services – Division of Cannabis Regulation — Licenses marijuana facilities; under HB 2641 (2026) hemp-derived cannabinoid products become 'marijuana' that only licensed facilities may make or sell from Nov 12, 2026. Missouri Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (DPS) — Concurrent enforcement authority over intoxicating hemp products under HB 2641. USDA Domestic Hemp Production Program — Licenses Missouri hemp growers (state MDA program ended; USDA administration since Jan 1, 2023). Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Missouri DHSS Division of Cannabis Regulation.
- What are Missouri's hemp laws in 2026?
- Until November 12, 2026 Missouri has no state license, age limit or THC cap for consumable hemp products (growers license through USDA since the state program ended January 1, 2023), though the Attorney General has pursued consumer-protection actions against mislabeled intoxicating products. HB 2641, signed by Governor Kehoe in April 2026 (Intoxicating Cannabinoid Control Act), takes effect November 12, 2026: hemp-derived cannabinoid products with more than 0.4 mg combined total THC per container are redefined as marijuana that only DHSS-licensed marijuana facilities may cultivate, manufacture, test, transport or sell (21+ dispensary rules), with a $5,000-per-transaction fine and class D felony for violators, enforced by the Attorney General together with DHSS, the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control and the Highway Patrol; some provisions apply only while federal restrictions on those products are in force, so the federal delay to December 11, 2026 creates uncertainty, and a hemp-industry lawsuit filed July 17, 2026 in the Western District of Missouri challenges the law as vague (no injunction reported as of that filing). Key law: MO HB 2641 (2026) – ban effective 2026-11-12; RSMo 195.010 hemp exclusion today (effective November 12, 2026).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Missouri?
- Missouri states no minimum age for hemp products in the sources verified September 29, 2026; Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Missouri cap THC in hemp products?
- Missouri sets no state-level milligram cap in the verified dataset; the federal definition (total THC including THCA at or below 0.3% dry weight) applies, and the state law summary above lists any product rules.
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Missouri?
- 1. Register the business with the Missouri Secretary of State and obtain a Department of Revenue sales tax license. 2. Growers: apply for a USDA hemp producer license (HeMP platform) - Missouri no longer issues state licenses. 3. Before Nov 12, 2026: sell only accurately labeled hemp products with COAs, avoid marketing to minors and adopt 21+ ID checks (AG consumer-protection enforcement is active). 4. Plan to remove all intoxicating hemp products (THC seltzers, edibles, delta-8, THCA flower) with more than 0.4 mg total THC per container from general retail by Nov 12, 2026, or obtain a DHSS marijuana facility license to sell them through the licensed system. 5. Do not use the word 'dispensary' in an unlicensed business name (class D felony under HB 2641). 6. Monitor the federal court challenge and any DHSS/AG guidance on how the federal delay to Dec 11, 2026 affects the state effective date.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.