Hemp Laws & Licensing · MT
Montana hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — …has no consumable-hemp retail license…
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 0.5 mg THC per serving · 2 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Cannabis system only / banned · online: Prohibited
- Key law
- MT SB 375 and HB 49 (2025); HB 948 (2023) synthetic cannabinoid ban — effective May 5, 2025
The law today
Montana licenses hemp growers and processors through the Department of Agriculture under a USDA-approved plan (MCA 80-18), but has no consumable-hemp retail license. HB 948 (May 22, 2023) bans manufacture and sale of synthetic cannabinoid products (delta-8, delta-10, THC-O, HHC, THCP, etc.); HB 49 (April 7, 2025) caps any hemp product sold outside the licensed marijuana system at 0.5 mg total delta-9 THC per serving and 2 mg per package; and SB 375 (May 5, 2025, Ch. 394) goes further, prohibiting sale to consumers of any hemp product that contains total delta-9 THC unless the FDA has authorized it as a food or drug, with DPHHS as the Title 50 enforcing agency.
Intoxicating cannabinoid products are therefore sold only through DOR-licensed adult-use dispensaries to adults 21+ (HB 636 raises dispensary edible limits to 5 mg/serving and 100 mg/package effective July 1, 2026); THC-free CBD products remain sellable at general retail without a state hemp license, subject to food-safety licensing.
Who regulates it
Montana Department of Agriculture – Hemp Programagr.mt.gov (opens in a new tab)
Hemp grower (planting permit + production license) and hemp processor licensing
Montana Department of Revenue – Cannabis Control Division (CARD)revenue.mt.gov (opens in a new tab)
Marijuana regulator; enforces the synthetic-cannabinoid ban (HB 948 / HB 49) and publishes 2025 hemp/THC law updates
Montana DPHHS – Environmental Health & Food Safetydphhs.mt.gov (opens in a new tab)
Title 50 food/drug authority that enforces SB 375 (hemp products with THC) and licenses wholesale food establishments through county/tribal sanitarians
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Montana Department of Revenue – Cannabis Control Divisionrevenue.mt.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Anyone cultivating hemp in Montana (license valid to Dec 31, 2026; mail/email only)
- Fee
- $850/yr (Category A or B cultivars) or $1,100/yr (Category C, includes first inspection + test); $100 late fee; $250 per extra sample or inspection
Hemp Licensing page (application period, stages, deadlines)agr.mt.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Growers
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
Hemp Processor License (Part A extracts / Part B grain-seed-fiber)agr.mt.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone processing hemp into derivatives for food, fiber, oil, supplements (growers processing only their own crop are exempt); one license per physical location
- Fee
- $2,500/yr Part A (floral/root extracts, includes Part B); $1,000/yr Part B (grain, seed, seed oil, fiber)
Hemp Processor License application (PDF)agr.mt.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Hemp processors
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Montana Code Annotated Title 80, ch. 18, part 1 (Hemp)mca.legmt.gov (opens in a new tab)
- SB 375 (2025), Ch. 394 – no sale of hemp products containing total delta-9 THC to consumers unless FDA-authorizedarchive.legmt.gov (opens in a new tab)
- HB 49 (2025), Ch. 100 – 0.5 mg THC/serving & 2 mg/package cap outside the marijuana system; synthetic cannabinoid definitionsarchive.legmt.gov (opens in a new tab)
- DOR Cannabis Control Division – 2025 legislative updates (SB 375, HB 49, HB 636)revenue.mt.gov (opens in a new tab)
- DOR – Synthetic cannabinoids banned under HB 948 (2023)revenue.mt.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
No state-specific COA page was found for Montana; the federal sampling and lab rules on the main page apply, and the licensing pages above carry any state testing rules.
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Montana
- 1
Register the business with the Montana Secretary of State
- 2
Growers: apply to the Montana Department of Agriculture for the 2026 Hemp License (Stage 1 planting permit, then production license) – $850–$1,100/yr
- 3
Processors/extractors: apply for the Hemp Processor License (Part A $2,500/yr or Part B $1,000/yr) for each physical location
- 4
Manufacturers of hemp foods/supplements: obtain a wholesale food establishment license through the county or tribal sanitarian (DPHHS Environmental Health & Food Safety)
- 5
Do not sell hemp products containing any total delta-9 THC to Montana consumers (SB 375) and never sell synthetic cannabinoids (delta-8, HHC, THC-O, etc.); keep COAs showing non-detect THC
- 6
Any intoxicating THC product must instead go through a DOR-licensed marijuana manufacturer/dispensary (21+)
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Montana
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Montana: state law only allows these hemp products through its licensed cannabis system, if at all.
State law: cannabis system only.
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence — Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- All MT links loaded on 2026-09-29. Overlap between HB 49's 0.5 mg/serving cap and SB 375's zero-THC rule is not reconciled on any agency page; DOR's 2025 update page states SB 375 is enforced by DPHHS under Title 50. DPHHS has no dedicated hemp page (its 2021 CBD/hemp guidance PDF predates the 2025 laws), so the Wholesale Food Establishments page is used as the DPHHS link. Grower fees taken from the 2026 Stage 1 application; MDA has no per-acre fee.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- Hemp products containing total delta-9 THC may not be sold to consumers unless FDA-authorized; synthetic cannabinoids illegal; intoxicating products only in licensed adult-use dispensaries. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- 2025 Legislative Updates: New Cannabis Laws in Montana (Montana Department of Revenue)revenue.mt.gov (opens in a new tab) · 2025-05-20
“SB 375: a hemp product containing total delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) may not be sold to a consumer in the state unless authorized by federal regulators as a food or drug.”
Montana hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Montana sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Montana?
- Montana does not issue a hemp retail license: has no consumable-hemp retail license. Official link: Hemp Grower License – 2026 Stage 1 application (Planting Permit → Production License) (agr.mt.gov) — fee: $850/yr (Category A or B cultivars) or $1,100/yr (Category C, includes first inspection + test); $100 late fee; $250 per extra sample or inspection. Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Montana?
- Montana Department of Agriculture – Hemp Program — Hemp grower (planting permit + production license) and hemp processor licensing. Montana Department of Revenue – Cannabis Control Division (CARD) — Marijuana regulator; enforces the synthetic-cannabinoid ban (HB 948 / HB 49) and publishes 2025 hemp/THC law updates. Montana DPHHS – Environmental Health & Food Safety — Title 50 food/drug authority that enforces SB 375 (hemp products with THC) and licenses wholesale food establishments through county/tribal sanitarians. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Montana Department of Revenue – Cannabis Control Division.
- What are Montana's hemp laws in 2026?
- Montana licenses hemp growers and processors through the Department of Agriculture under a USDA-approved plan (MCA 80-18), but has no consumable-hemp retail license. HB 948 (May 22, 2023) bans manufacture and sale of synthetic cannabinoid products (delta-8, delta-10, THC-O, HHC, THCP, etc.); HB 49 (April 7, 2025) caps any hemp product sold outside the licensed marijuana system at 0.5 mg total delta-9 THC per serving and 2 mg per package; and SB 375 (May 5, 2025, Ch. Key law: MT SB 375 and HB 49 (2025); HB 948 (2023) synthetic cannabinoid ban (effective May 5, 2025).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Montana?
- 21+ under Montana law (MT SB 375 and HB 49 (2025); HB 948 (2023) synthetic cannabinoid ban). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Montana cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes — 0.5 mg THC per serving · 2 mg per package under MT SB 375 and HB 49 (2025); HB 948 (2023) synthetic cannabinoid ban. Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Montana?
- 1. Register the business with the Montana Secretary of State. 2. Growers: apply to the Montana Department of Agriculture for the 2026 Hemp License (Stage 1 planting permit, then production license) – $850–$1,100/yr. 3. Processors/extractors: apply for the Hemp Processor License (Part A $2,500/yr or Part B $1,000/yr) for each physical location. 4. Manufacturers of hemp foods/supplements: obtain a wholesale food establishment license through the county or tribal sanitarian (DPHHS Environmental Health & Food Safety). 5. Do not sell hemp products containing any total delta-9 THC to Montana consumers (SB 375) and never sell synthetic cannabinoids (delta-8, HHC, THC-O, etc.); keep COAs showing non-detect THC. 6. Any intoxicating THC product must instead go through a DOR-licensed marijuana manufacturer/dispensary (21+).
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.