Hemp Laws & Licensing ยท CO
Colorado hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No โ retailers need no hemp-specific state licenseโฆ
- Minimum age
- 21+ for some products
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 1.75 mg THC per serving
- Hemp-derived THC products ยท online sales
- Cannabis system only / banned ยท online: Prohibited
- Key law
- CO SB 23-271; C.R.S. ยง 25-5-427; 6 CCR 1010-24 (CDPHE) โ effective July 1, 2023
The law today
Colorado allows non-intoxicating hemp products at general retail but pushes intoxicating ones into the marijuana system. Under SB 23-271 (June 2023) and CDPHE/MED rules, hemp products sold outside licensed marijuana stores must contain only naturally derived cannabinoids with no more than about 1.25 mg THC per serving at a CBD:THC ratio of at least 20:1 (products above that threshold are limited to 5 servings and may not be sold to anyone under 21; zero-THC products, tinctures, cosmetics and GRAS foods are exempt from the age rule); delta-8, chemically converted and other intoxicating cannabinoids may not be sold as hemp products.
Manufacturers must register with CDPHE (Standard or Safe Harbor registration), source hemp from approved sources and keep COAs; retailers need no hemp-specific state license. The Attorney General has levied five- and six-figure penalties in 2024โ2025 for intoxicating or mislabeled hemp products. Growers register with the Department of Agriculture, which does not regulate processing or sales.
Who regulates it
Registration of manufacturers of hemp foods, dietary supplements, cosmetics and extracts (6 CCR 1010-24); Safe Harbor hemp registration; product standards
Colorado Department of Agriculture โ Hemp Programag.colorado.gov (opens in a new tab)
Cultivation registration only (8 CCR 1203-23; C.R.S. 35-61)
Colorado Marijuana Enforcement Division (MED), Dept. of Revenuemed.colorado.gov (opens in a new tab)
Regulates intoxicating and potentially intoxicating cannabinoids (SB 23-271); prohibition notice on hemp-derived THC outside the marijuana system
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Colorado Marijuana Enforcement Divisionmed.colorado.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Anyone manufacturing, extracting, repackaging or relabeling hemp foods, beverages, dietary supplements, cosmetics or pet products in Colorado
- Fee
- $100 non-refundable application fee plus invoiced registration fee
CDA Hemp Online Portal โ cultivation registrationcda.state.co.us (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Hemp growers (commercial or R&D registration)
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
CDA Hemp Forms & Reports (registration applications)ag.colorado.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Hemp growers
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- SB 23-271 โ Intoxicating Cannabinoid Hemp and Marijuana (signed June 7, 2023)leg.colorado.gov (opens in a new tab)
- 8 CCR 1203-23 โ CDA Hemp Rules (Colorado Secretary of State)sos.state.co.us (opens in a new tab)
- CDA โ Hemp laws and rules page (Hemp Act, USDA rule, state plan)ag.colorado.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Colorado
- 1
Register the business with the Colorado Secretary of State and obtain a sales tax license
- 2
Manufacturers/extractors/repackagers: apply for CDPHE hemp product manufacturer registration (Standard, or Safe Harbor with third-party audit) โ $100 application fee plus registration fee โ and source only from CDPHE-approved sources
- 3
Formulate to the non-intoxicating thresholds (โค1.25 mg THC/serving, โฅ20:1 CBD:THC, no synthetic/converted cannabinoids) with a full COA on file; higher-THC products belong in the MED marijuana system
- 4
Retailers: no state hemp retail license, but verify 21+ for any product above the SB 23-271 threshold, sell only CDPHE-registered products and keep COAs
- 5
Growers: register cultivation through the CDA Hemp Online Portal and comply with 8 CCR 1203-23 sampling/testing
- 6
Watch MED/CDPHE rulemaking and AG enforcement bulletins for changes to the cannabinoid thresholds
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Colorado
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Colorado: state law only allows these hemp products through its licensed cannabis system, if at all.
State law: cannabis system only.
Live status โ it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 โ every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence โ Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- CDPHE hosts its regulation (6 CCR 1010-24), applications and guidance on Google Drive links from the official hemp-food page rather than on colorado.gov URLs; the CDPHE page itself is the official entry point. The MED 'intoxicating hemp' subpage only carries the SB22-205 task-force materials. Per-serving threshold figures (1.25 mg / 20:1, with 1.75 mg / 15:1 variants for certain packaging) are from the SB 23-271 bill summary and a law-firm analysis; confirm current numbers in CDPHE/MED rules. No 2025โ2026 statutory change to the thresholds was found.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- Non-dispensary hemp products capped at 1.25โ1.75 mg THC per serving with 15:1โ20:1 CBD:THC ratios; chemically converted cannabinoids prohibited. AG enforcement active. SB 26-164 (10 mg hemp drinks) was withdrawn 2026-04-29. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Colorado Continues Enforcing Intoxicating Hemp Regulations โ Canna Law Blog (Harris Sliwoski)harris-sliwoski.com (opens in a new tab) ยท 2025-05-19
โmilligram limits on THC content โ ranging from 1.25mg to 1.75mg per serving, depending on age and packaging size, and CBD:THC ratio requirements between 15:1 and 20:1.โ
Colorado hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Colorado sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Colorado?
- Colorado does not issue a hemp retail license: retailers need no hemp-specific state license. Official link: CDPHE Hemp product manufacturer registration (Standard and Safe Harbor) โ hemp food page with application links (cdphe.colorado.gov) โ fee: $100 non-refundable application fee plus invoiced registration fee. Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Colorado?
- Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment (CDPHE) โ Hemp Products / Wholesale Food Manufacturing โ Registration of manufacturers of hemp foods, dietary supplements, cosmetics and extracts (6 CCR 1010-24); Safe Harbor hemp registration; product standards. Colorado Department of Agriculture โ Hemp Program โ Cultivation registration only (8 CCR 1203-23; C.R.S. 35-61). Colorado Marijuana Enforcement Division (MED), Dept. of Revenue โ Regulates intoxicating and potentially intoxicating cannabinoids (SB 23-271); prohibition notice on hemp-derived THC outside the marijuana system. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Colorado Marijuana Enforcement Division.
- What are Colorado's hemp laws in 2026?
- Colorado allows non-intoxicating hemp products at general retail but pushes intoxicating ones into the marijuana system. Under SB 23-271 (June 2023) and CDPHE/MED rules, hemp products sold outside licensed marijuana stores must contain only naturally derived cannabinoids with no more than about 1.25 mg THC per serving at a CBD:THC ratio of at least 20:1 (products above that threshold are limited to 5 servings and may not be sold to anyone under 21; zero-THC products, tinctures, cosmetics and GRAS foods are exempt from the age rule); delta-8, chemically converted and other intoxicating cannabinoids may not be sold as hemp products. Key law: CO SB 23-271; C.R.S. ยง 25-5-427; 6 CCR 1010-24 (CDPHE) (effective July 1, 2023).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Colorado?
- 21+ for some products under Colorado law (CO SB 23-271; C.R.S. ยง 25-5-427; 6 CCR 1010-24 (CDPHE)). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Colorado cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes โ 1.75 mg THC per serving under CO SB 23-271; C.R.S. ยง 25-5-427; 6 CCR 1010-24 (CDPHE). Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does Colorado require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- CDPHE hemp product requirements โ approved-source hemp, COA/testing per 6 CCR 1010-24 (links on hemp food page). Official page: cdphe.colorado.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Colorado?
- 1. Register the business with the Colorado Secretary of State and obtain a sales tax license. 2. Manufacturers/extractors/repackagers: apply for CDPHE hemp product manufacturer registration (Standard, or Safe Harbor with third-party audit) โ $100 application fee plus registration fee โ and source only from CDPHE-approved sources. 3. Formulate to the non-intoxicating thresholds (โค1.25 mg THC/serving, โฅ20:1 CBD:THC, no synthetic/converted cannabinoids) with a full COA on file; higher-THC products belong in the MED marijuana system. 4. Retailers: no state hemp retail license, but verify 21+ for any product above the SB 23-271 threshold, sell only CDPHE-registered products and keep COAs. 5. Growers: register cultivation through the CDA Hemp Online Portal and comply with 8 CCR 1203-23 sampling/testing. 6. Watch MED/CDPHE rulemaking and AG enforcement bulletins for changes to the cannabinoid thresholds.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change โ always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.