Hemp Laws & Licensing ยท VT
Vermont hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No โ Vermont has no state cultivation license (growers use USDA since the state plan ended 2022-12-31) and, until Act 178โฆ
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 1.5 mg THC per serving ยท 10 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products ยท online sales
- Cannabis system only / banned ยท online: Prohibited
- Key law
- Vermont Cannabis Control Board Hemp Rule (eff. 2023-10-21); 7 V.S.A. ch. 33; Act 178 (S.323, 2026) โ effective October 21, 2023
The law today
Vermont has no state cultivation license (growers use USDA since the state plan ended 2022-12-31) and, until Act 178, no registration for selling non-intoxicating hemp/CBD products. Under CCB rules a product is treated as cannabis, not hemp, if it exceeds 0.3% total THC, contains more than 1.5 mg THC per serving or 10 mg per package (unless CBD:THC is at least 20:1), contains alcohol, or is marketed to intoxicate; such products, all hemp-derived THC concentrates, synthetic cannabinoids, delta-8/delta-10 with intoxicating effects, and THC added to manufactured foods are prohibited outside licensed cannabis establishments.
Act 178 (signed 2026-06-18, hemp sections effective on passage) moves hemp oversight to the CCB and requires growers to register ($50), processors to be licensed ($500) and any hemp product with more than 0.4 mg THC to be registered ($75) before sale in Vermont; products not lawful in interstate commerce are deemed cannabis. The CCB had not yet posted the new application forms at verification time.
Who regulates it
Vermont Cannabis Control Board (CCB)ccb.vermont.gov (opens in a new tab)
Regulates hemp-derived products and, since Act 178 (signed 2026-06-18), hemp grower registration, processor licensing and hemp product registration (7 V.S.A. ch. 31, subch. 3)
Hemp cultivation licensing for Vermont growers (state plan withdrawn 2022-12-31)
Former state hemp program (ended 2022); page redirects growers to USDA and product questions to the CCB
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Vermont Cannabis Control Boardccb.vermont.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
USDA Hemp eManagement Platform (HeMP) โ producer licenseams.usda.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone growing hemp in Vermont
- Fee
- No USDA fee
- Who needs it
- Hemp growers (CCB registration $50), processors (CCB license $500) and products containing more than 0.4 mg THC (registration $75) under Act 178
- Fee
- Producer $50; Processor $500; Product $75 (Act 178, 7 V.S.A. ยง 858)
- Who needs it
- CCB licensees/registrants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
CCB legacy hemp processor registry (closed to new submissions)ccb.vermont.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Reference only โ registry no longer maintained
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Act 178 (2026), S.323 โ transfers hemp oversight to the CCB, repeals 6 V.S.A. ch. 34, adds 7 V.S.A. ch. 31 subch. 3 (hemp sections effective on passage, 2026-06-18)legislature.vermont.gov (opens in a new tab)
- S.323 bill status page (2025-2026 session)legislature.vermont.gov (opens in a new tab)
- 7 V.S.A. Chapter 33 โ Cannabis Control Boardlegislature.vermont.gov (opens in a new tab)
- CCB Rule 2 โ Regulation of Cannabis Establishments (adopted text, July 2025)ccb.vermont.gov (opens in a new tab)
- 6 V.S.A. Chapter 34 โ Hemp (repealed by Act 178; historical)legislature.vermont.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Vermont
- 1
Register the business with the Vermont Secretary of State and obtain a Vermont sales tax account
- 2
Growers: obtain a USDA hemp producer license through HeMP, then register as a hemp grower with the CCB ($50) once forms are available
- 3
Processors (including anyone trading in hemp-derived cannabinoids): obtain the CCB hemp processor license ($500) when the CCB opens applications; until then, follow the CCB hemp guidance
- 4
Register any hemp product containing more than 0.4 mg THC with the CCB ($75) before selling it in Vermont; keep it within 1.5 mg THC/serving and 10 mg/package or it is a cannabis product requiring a cannabis license
- 5
Do not sell hemp-derived THC concentrates, synthetic or converted cannabinoids (delta-8/10 marketed as intoxicating), alcohol-infused hemp products, or THC-added foods outside the licensed cannabis system
- 6
Follow Vermont Department of Health manufactured-food rules for edible hemp products and keep COAs/manifests for any interstate shipment
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Vermont
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Vermont: state law only allows these hemp products through its licensed cannabis system, if at all.
State law: cannabis system only.
Live status โ it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 โ every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence โ Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- Act 178 is in force but the CCB has not yet published the grower/processor/product registration process or fee collection details; its hemp page still describes the pre-Act 178 framework and the processor registry is closed. Re-check ccb.vermont.gov/hemp before applying. The legacy AAFM statute link (6 V.S.A. ch. 34) is included for history only.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- 1.5 mg THC per serving / 10 mg per package (unless 20:1 CBD:THC); delta-8/10, synthetic cannabinoids and products marketed as intoxicating prohibited; intoxicating THC products only via licensed cannabis retailers. Act 178 (eff. 2026-07-01) moves hemp oversight to the CCB. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Hemp Regulation โ James Pepper, Vermont Cannabis Control Board testimony to House Agriculture (S.323)legislature.vermont.gov (opens in a new tab) ยท 2026-03-26
โNo more than 1.5 mg THC per serving; no more than 10 mg total THC per package (unless CBD-to-THC ratio is at least 20:1); not more than 0.3% on a dry weight basis.โ
Vermont hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Vermont sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Vermont?
- Vermont does not issue a hemp retail license: Vermont has no state cultivation license (growers use USDA since the state plan ended 2022-12-31) and, until Act 178, no registration for selling non-intoxicating hemp/CBD products. Official link: USDA Hemp eManagement Platform (HeMP) โ producer license (ams.usda.gov) โ fee: No USDA fee. Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Vermont?
- Vermont Cannabis Control Board (CCB) โ Regulates hemp-derived products and, since Act 178 (signed 2026-06-18), hemp grower registration, processor licensing and hemp product registration (7 V.S.A. ch. 31, subch. 3). USDA Agricultural Marketing Service โ Domestic Hemp Production Program โ Hemp cultivation licensing for Vermont growers (state plan withdrawn 2022-12-31). Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets (legacy hemp program) โ Former state hemp program (ended 2022); page redirects growers to USDA and product questions to the CCB. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Vermont Cannabis Control Board.
- What are Vermont's hemp laws in 2026?
- Vermont has no state cultivation license (growers use USDA since the state plan ended 2022-12-31) and, until Act 178, no registration for selling non-intoxicating hemp/CBD products. Under CCB rules a product is treated as cannabis, not hemp, if it exceeds 0.3% total THC, contains more than 1.5 mg THC per serving or 10 mg per package (unless CBD:THC is at least 20:1), contains alcohol, or is marketed to intoxicate; such products, all hemp-derived THC concentrates, synthetic cannabinoids, delta-8/delta-10 with intoxicating effects, and THC added to manufactured foods are prohibited outside licensed cannabis establishments. Key law: Vermont Cannabis Control Board Hemp Rule (eff. 2023-10-21); 7 V.S.A. ch. 33; Act 178 (S.323, 2026) (effective October 21, 2023).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Vermont?
- 21+ under Vermont law (Vermont Cannabis Control Board Hemp Rule (eff. 2023-10-21); 7 V.S.A. ch. 33; Act 178 (S.323, 2026)). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Vermont cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes โ 1.5 mg THC per serving ยท 10 mg per package under Vermont Cannabis Control Board Hemp Rule (eff. 2023-10-21); 7 V.S.A. ch. 33; Act 178 (S.323, 2026). Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does Vermont require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- CCB hemp guidance โ products above 0.3% total THC (THCa x 0.877), 1.5 mg THC/serving or 10 mg/package are cannabis; COA/manifest documentation for interstate transport. Official page: ccb.vermont.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Vermont?
- 1. Register the business with the Vermont Secretary of State and obtain a Vermont sales tax account. 2. Growers: obtain a USDA hemp producer license through HeMP, then register as a hemp grower with the CCB ($50) once forms are available. 3. Processors (including anyone trading in hemp-derived cannabinoids): obtain the CCB hemp processor license ($500) when the CCB opens applications; until then, follow the CCB hemp guidance. 4. Register any hemp product containing more than 0.4 mg THC with the CCB ($75) before selling it in Vermont; keep it within 1.5 mg THC/serving and 10 mg/package or it is a cannabis product requiring a cannabis license. 5. Do not sell hemp-derived THC concentrates, synthetic or converted cannabinoids (delta-8/10 marketed as intoxicating), alcohol-infused hemp products, or THC-added foods outside the licensed cannabis system. 6. Follow Vermont Department of Health manufactured-food rules for edible hemp products and keep COAs/manifests for any interstate shipment.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change โ always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.