Hemp Laws & Licensing · IN
Indiana hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — Indiana has no state license, registration, age limit or milligram cap for consumable hemp-derived products…
- Minimum age
- No state age rule stated
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- No state cap stated
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Unclear · online: Unclear
- Key law
- IN AG Official Opinion 2023-1; IC 15-15-13; IC 35-48-2-4; SB 250 (2026, died)
The law today
Indiana has no state license, registration, age limit or milligram cap for consumable hemp-derived products; only hemp cultivation and handling are licensed (by the Office of Indiana State Chemist under IC 15-15-13). Selling smokable hemp flower is a crime under IC 35-48-4-10.1 (SEA 516 of 2019), and CBD/'low-THC hemp extract' products must meet the labeling, packaging and certificate-of-analysis (QR code) rules of IC 24-4-21; the Attorney General's 2023 opinion treats delta-8 and similar converted cannabinoids as controlled substances, so those products carry enforcement risk.
Comprehensive regulation failed twice: SB 478 (2025) died in conference in April 2025 and SB 250 (2026, 21+ age gate, ATC permits, 0.4 mg THC per container cap, online-sales ban) passed the Senate but died in the House, with a last-minute conference-committee revival failing when the session ended February 27, 2026; the federal 0.4 mg per container redefinition (delayed to December 11, 2026) will therefore govern intoxicating products.
Who regulates it
Office of Indiana State Chemist (OISC) – Indiana Hemp Programoisc.purdue.edu (opens in a new tab)
Licenses hemp growers and handlers (processing/drying/transport) under IC 15-15-13; state seed commissioner is the regulatory authority
Indiana State Department of Agriculture – Hemp in Indianain.gov (opens in a new tab)
Policy/market development; refers licensing to OISC
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Anyone growing hemp (incl. clones/seed) or handling/processing/drying/transporting hemp for others in Indiana; fingerprint background check required
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Prospective growers and handlers
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Reference for federal hemp rules; Indiana growers license through OISC, not USDA
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Indiana Code Title 15 (IC 15-15-13, Industrial Hemp) – Indiana General Assemblyiga.in.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Indiana Code Title 24 (IC 24-4-21, distribution of low-THC hemp extract: COA, QR-code labeling, packaging)iga.in.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Indiana Code Title 35 (IC 35-48-4-10.1, dealing in smokable hemp is a crime)iga.in.gov (opens in a new tab)
- SB 250 (2026) – craft hemp / intoxicating hemp regulation bill (passed Senate, died in House)iga.in.gov (opens in a new tab)
- SB 478 (2025) – craft hemp flower products bill (died in conference committee)iga.in.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Indiana
- 1
Register the business with the Indiana Secretary of State (INBiz) and obtain a Registered Retail Merchant Certificate from the Department of Revenue for sales tax
- 2
Growers/handlers: create an account and apply for an OISC grower or handler license at hemp.oisc.purdue.edu (fingerprint background check, GPS field coordinates, planting/harvest reports)
- 3
Sell only non-smokable hemp products; hemp flower/pre-rolls for smoking are illegal to deal in Indiana (IC 35-48-4-10.1)
- 4
Ensure every CBD / low-THC hemp extract product has a COA from an independent lab and the QR-code label, batch number and packaging required by IC 24-4-21
- 5
Avoid delta-8/delta-10/THC-O and other converted cannabinoids given AG Opinion 2023-1 and pending federal changes; adopt voluntary 21+ ID checks
- 6
Track the 2027 session for renewed craft-hemp legislation and the federal 0.4 mg per container definition change
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Indiana
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Indiana yet: we haven't verified that online sales are allowed there.
Not verified yet.
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence — Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- OISC's site is on a purdue.edu domain because the agency is statutorily housed at Purdue University; it is the official licensing authority. iga.in.gov pages load but render via JavaScript, so bill status was confirmed through Indiana Capital Chronicle reporting (Feb 27, 2026). One industry site claims SB 478 took effect July 1, 2025; that is incorrect - it died in conference (per Indiana Capital Chronicle and other reporting). OISC license fees are set in the portal and not published on the landing page.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- No statute regulates or bans hemp-THC products; the AG's 2023 advisory opinion treats products over 0.3% total THC as controlled substances. SB 250 (total-THC standard, 0.4 mg cap, online ban) died in the House 2026-02-24. Closed until counsel clears it. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- IN A.G.: Congress closed the hemp loophole, Indiana must too (GIANT fm)giant.fm (opens in a new tab) · 2026-02-27
“Indiana does not currently ban these products, though Rokita's 2023 advisory opinion says any product over 0.3% total THC (including delta-8/delta-10) is a controlled substance; the AG urged the House to pass SB 250.”
Indiana hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Indiana sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Indiana?
- Indiana does not issue a hemp retail license: Indiana has no state license, registration, age limit or milligram cap for consumable hemp-derived products. Official link: Indiana Hemp Licensing & Permitting portal (grower / handler license, crop reporting) (hemp.oisc.purdue.edu). Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Indiana?
- Office of Indiana State Chemist (OISC) – Indiana Hemp Program — Licenses hemp growers and handlers (processing/drying/transport) under IC 15-15-13; state seed commissioner is the regulatory authority. Indiana State Department of Agriculture – Hemp in Indiana — Policy/market development; refers licensing to OISC.
- What are Indiana's hemp laws in 2026?
- Indiana has no state license, registration, age limit or milligram cap for consumable hemp-derived products; only hemp cultivation and handling are licensed (by the Office of Indiana State Chemist under IC 15-15-13). Selling smokable hemp flower is a crime under IC 35-48-4-10.1 (SEA 516 of 2019), and CBD/'low-THC hemp extract' products must meet the labeling, packaging and certificate-of-analysis (QR code) rules of IC 24-4-21; the Attorney General's 2023 opinion treats delta-8 and similar converted cannabinoids as controlled substances, so those products carry enforcement risk. Key law: IN AG Official Opinion 2023-1; IC 15-15-13; IC 35-48-2-4; SB 250 (2026, died).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Indiana?
- Indiana states no minimum age for hemp products in the sources verified September 29, 2026; Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Indiana cap THC in hemp products?
- Indiana sets no state-level milligram cap in the verified dataset; the federal definition (total THC including THCA at or below 0.3% dry weight) applies, and the state law summary above lists any product rules.
- Does Indiana require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- IC 24-4-21 – low-THC hemp extract must carry a certificate of analysis accessible by QR code (Title 24). Official page: iga.in.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Indiana?
- 1. Register the business with the Indiana Secretary of State (INBiz) and obtain a Registered Retail Merchant Certificate from the Department of Revenue for sales tax. 2. Growers/handlers: create an account and apply for an OISC grower or handler license at hemp.oisc.purdue.edu (fingerprint background check, GPS field coordinates, planting/harvest reports). 3. Sell only non-smokable hemp products; hemp flower/pre-rolls for smoking are illegal to deal in Indiana (IC 35-48-4-10.1). 4. Ensure every CBD / low-THC hemp extract product has a COA from an independent lab and the QR-code label, batch number and packaging required by IC 24-4-21. 5. Avoid delta-8/delta-10/THC-O and other converted cannabinoids given AG Opinion 2023-1 and pending federal changes; adopt voluntary 21+ ID checks. 6. Track the 2027 session for renewed craft-hemp legislation and the federal 0.4 mg per container definition change.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.