Hemp Laws & Licensing · GA
Georgia hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- Yes — Retail Consumable Hemp Establishment License (apply in GDA Hemp Licensing & Reporting System)
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 10 mg THC per serving · 300 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Allowed
- Key law
- GA SB 494 (2024), O.C.G.A. § 2-23; Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. ch. 40-32; SB 33 (Act 461, 2026) — effective October 1, 2024
The law today
Since SB 494 took effect October 1, 2024, Georgia requires GDA licenses for every tier of consumable hemp: growers, processors ($500), hemp product manufacturers, consumable hemp wholesalers and retail consumable hemp establishments ($250 per location), with sales limited to buyers 21+ and products tested by GDA-registered labs. GDA Rule 40-32-5 caps consumable hemp products at 10 mg total delta-9 THC per gummy (300 mg per package), 10 mg per 12-oz beverage, 2 mg/mL tinctures (60 mL max) and 1,000 mg topicals, bans hemp flower, hemp-infused foods other than gummies, alcoholic beverages and nicotine/caffeine additives, and requires child-resistant, non-candy-like packaging with a THC warning symbol and QR-linked COA.
SB 33 (Act 461, signed May 11, 2026) further excludes synthetic cannabinoids (any cannabinoid not naturally produced by the plant) from consumable hemp products, tightens full-panel COA duties and lets GDA and law enforcement impound non-compliant products; per the House-passed text most provisions take effect January 1, 2027. Out-of-state online sellers shipping to Georgia consumers should expect the same licensing and product rules.
Who regulates it
Georgia Department of Agriculture (GDA) – Hemp Programagr.georgia.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses hemp growers, processors, hemp product manufacturers, consumable hemp wholesalers and retail consumable hemp establishments; registers labs; enforces consumable hemp product rules (O.C.G.A. 2-23; Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 40-32)
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission (low-THC oil program – separate from hemp)gmcc.ga.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Any business preparing or selling prepackaged consumable hemp products to consumers in Georgia – one license per retail location
- Fee
- $250/yr per location
Hemp Processor Permitagr.georgia.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone converting raw hemp into a marketable form (surety bond $20,000–$1,000,000; background checks)
- Fee
- $500/yr
Hemp Grower Licenseagr.georgia.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Hemp cultivators
- Fee
- $50/acre (max $5,000)
- Who needs it
- All GDA hemp license applicants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
Retailer application process guide (PDF)agr.georgia.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Retail consumable hemp license applicants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Georgia Hemp Farming Act, O.C.G.A. § 2-23-1 et seq. (GDA compiled PDF)agr.georgia.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. Chapter 40-32 – Hemp and Hemp Products (Subject 40-32-5 Consumable Hemp Products)rules.sos.ga.gov (opens in a new tab)
- SB 494 (2024) – consumable hemp licensing, 21+, testing (signed, effective Oct 1, 2024)gov.georgia.gov (opens in a new tab)
- SB 33 (2025–2026) – Georgia Hemp Farming Act amendments; synthetic cannabinoid ban, COA and impoundment (signed May 11, 2026, Act 461)legis.ga.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Georgia
- 1
Register the business with the Georgia Secretary of State and Department of Revenue
- 2
Apply in the GDA Hemp Licensing and Reporting System for the license matching your tier: retail consumable hemp establishment ($250 per location), wholesale consumable hemp, hemp product manufacturer, processor ($500 + bond) and/or grower ($50/acre); licenses expire Dec 31
- 3
Stock only products with a current (≤12 months) full-panel COA from a GDA-registered lab, within Rule 40-32-5 THC limits, in child-resistant packaging with the THC warning symbol and QR code
- 4
Verify 21+ at every sale and keep COAs available for GDA inspection
- 5
Remove synthetic/converted cannabinoid products (delta-8, HHC, etc.) ahead of SB 33's effective date and watch GDA rule updates implementing it
- 6
Renew all GDA licenses annually before December 31
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Georgia
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only · vendor state permit required · state caps: 10 mg THC per serving, 300 mg per package).
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence — Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- The enrolled text of SB 33 could not be downloaded (LegiScan blocks the PDF; legis.ga.gov is a JS app), so the summary of SB 33 relies on the House Committee substitute (LC 44 3560S, passed House Mar 31, 2026) downloaded from legis.ga.gov, which sets a Jan 1, 2027 effective date; LegiScan lists 'effective 2026-05-11' (the signing date). Third-party claims that SB 33 imposes a 0.4 mg per-container cap were not supported by the substitute text – verify the enrolled act. A 2025 Georgia DOR bulletin restricts hemp products in retail package (liquor) stores.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- GDA retail consumable hemp license required, expressly including out-of-state online sellers. 10 mg total delta-9 THC per serving / 300 mg per package (gummies); beverages 10 mg per 12 fl oz; tinctures 2 mg/mL. Raw flower barred at retail. SB 33 (2026) targets synthetic cannabinoids such as HHC by 2027. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. R. 40-32-4-.03 – Retail Consumable Hemp Establishments (LII)law.cornell.edu (opens in a new tab)
“Retail consumable hemp establishment licensees without a physical location within the state and that only sell to Georgia customers online, must provide the location (street address) in the licensee's home jurisdiction from which they ship consumable hemp products.”
Georgia hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Georgia sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Georgia?
- Yes. Official link: Retail Consumable Hemp Establishment License (apply in GDA Hemp Licensing & Reporting System) (agr.georgia.gov) — fee: $250/yr per location. Growers license separately through the state hemp program or USDA.
- Who regulates hemp in Georgia?
- Georgia Department of Agriculture (GDA) – Hemp Program — Licenses hemp growers, processors, hemp product manufacturers, consumable hemp wholesalers and retail consumable hemp establishments; registers labs; enforces consumable hemp product rules (O.C.G.A. 2-23; Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 40-32). Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission (low-THC oil program – separate from hemp).
- What are Georgia's hemp laws in 2026?
- Since SB 494 took effect October 1, 2024, Georgia requires GDA licenses for every tier of consumable hemp: growers, processors ($500), hemp product manufacturers, consumable hemp wholesalers and retail consumable hemp establishments ($250 per location), with sales limited to buyers 21+ and products tested by GDA-registered labs. GDA Rule 40-32-5 caps consumable hemp products at 10 mg total delta-9 THC per gummy (300 mg per package), 10 mg per 12-oz beverage, 2 mg/mL tinctures (60 mL max) and 1,000 mg topicals, bans hemp flower, hemp-infused foods other than gummies, alcoholic beverages and nicotine/caffeine additives, and requires child-resistant, non-candy-like packaging with a THC warning symbol and QR-linked COA. Key law: GA SB 494 (2024), O.C.G.A. § 2-23; Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. ch. 40-32; SB 33 (Act 461, 2026) (effective October 1, 2024).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Georgia?
- 21+ under Georgia law (GA SB 494 (2024), O.C.G.A. § 2-23; Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. ch. 40-32; SB 33 (Act 461, 2026)). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Georgia cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes — 10 mg THC per serving · 300 mg per package under GA SB 494 (2024), O.C.G.A. § 2-23; Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. ch. 40-32; SB 33 (Act 461, 2026). Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does Georgia require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- Rule 40-32-5 – full-panel COA from a GDA-registered lab (12 cannabinoids, solvents, heavy metals, pesticides, microbials, mycotoxins) with QR code on label. Official page: rules.sos.ga.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Georgia?
- 1. Register the business with the Georgia Secretary of State and Department of Revenue. 2. Apply in the GDA Hemp Licensing and Reporting System for the license matching your tier: retail consumable hemp establishment ($250 per location), wholesale consumable hemp, hemp product manufacturer, processor ($500 + bond) and/or grower ($50/acre); licenses expire Dec 31. 3. Stock only products with a current (≤12 months) full-panel COA from a GDA-registered lab, within Rule 40-32-5 THC limits, in child-resistant packaging with the THC warning symbol and QR code. 4. Verify 21+ at every sale and keep COAs available for GDA inspection. 5. Remove synthetic/converted cannabinoid products (delta-8, HHC, etc.) ahead of SB 33's effective date and watch GDA rule updates implementing it. 6. Renew all GDA licenses annually before December 31.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.