Hemp Laws & Licensing · SC
South Carolina hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — South Carolina has no state license or registration for selling finished hemp/CBD products at retail or online…
- Minimum age
- No state age rule stated
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- No state cap stated
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Allowed
- Key law
- S.C. Hemp Farming Act (S.C. Code § 46-55-10 et seq.); no consumable-hemp statute
The law today
South Carolina has no state license or registration for selling finished hemp/CBD products at retail or online; the Hemp Farming Act expressly does not apply to the possession, handling, transport or sale of hemp products and extracts, and no state age limit or per-serving THC cap exists for hemp products. Only growing, processing and handling raw hemp require SCDA permits (individuals only, background check, SC residency), and hemp/CBD may not be added to commercial animal feed.
The Attorney General's 2021 opinion treats delta-8 and other THC isomers as unlawful under state law and SLED enforces against intoxicating hemp products. The legislature's consumables framework (H.3924: SCDA licensing, 21+, 0.4 mg total THC per container, ban on online sales and direct shipment) died when the House rejected the conference report on 2026-06-25, so nothing new is in force for 2026.
Who regulates it
Hemp farmer, processor and handler permits under the USDA-approved SC State Plan
South Carolina Attorney Generalscag.gov (opens in a new tab)
Issued the 2021 opinion that delta-8 THC and other THC isomers are not lawful hemp under SC law (enforced by SLED)
Licenses & registrations
SCDA Hemp Applications page (farmer, processor, handler)agriculture.sc.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Hemp farmers (application window opens January; next window January 2027), processors and handlers (accepted year-round)
- Fee
- Processor: $100 application + $1,500 permit per location; Handler: $100 application per location; farmer permit fee per SCDA fee schedule (statute caps cultivator/handler fees at $1,000/yr)
Hemp Processor Permit application (PDF)agriculture.sc.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone converting raw hemp into products in SC
- Fee
- $100 application + $1,500 permit per location
Hemp Handler Permit application (PDF)agriculture.sc.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone storing/transporting/possessing raw hemp not grown by them
- Fee
- $100 application per location
Hemp Fee & Reporting Schedule (PDF)agriculture.sc.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- All permit applicants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
Permitted farmers, handlers and processors listsagriculture.sc.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Reference list for sourcing SC hemp
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- SC Code Title 46, Chapter 55 – Hemp Farming Actscstatehouse.gov (opens in a new tab)
- H.3924 (2025-2026) – Hemp-derived consumables bill (passed both chambers in different forms; House rejected conference report 2026-06-25; not enacted)scstatehouse.gov (opens in a new tab)
- SC Attorney General opinion (Oct 4, 2021) on delta-8 THC and THC isomers under the Hemp Farming Actscag.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
No state-specific COA page was found for South Carolina; the federal sampling and lab rules on the main page apply, and the licensing pages above carry any state testing rules.
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in South Carolina
- 1
Register the business with the SC Secretary of State and obtain a SC retail license / sales tax registration from the SC Department of Revenue
- 2
If growing, processing or handling raw hemp: apply for the SCDA Hemp Farmer permit (January window; next opens January 2027), Processor permit ($100 + $1,500 per location) or Handler permit ($100 per location) and pass the background check
- 3
For finished hemp/CBD products: no SC permit exists, but keep COAs showing ≤0.3% total THC and avoid delta-8/THC-isomer products, which the Attorney General considers unlawful
- 4
Comply with SC food-product labeling and the animal-feed prohibition on hemp/CBD
- 5
Monitor the 2027 session for a revived consumables bill (H.3924 model: 21+, product registration, 0.4 mg THC per container)
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in South Carolina
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only).
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence — Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- Farmer application window is closed until January 2027. Because no consumable-hemp law passed in 2026, the retail rules rest on the 2021 AG opinion and general food law rather than a licensing statute; treat intoxicating products as high-risk in SC. Federal P.L. 119-37 (eff. 2026-12-11) will govern product definitions in the absence of state law.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- No consumable-hemp statute, age limit or online rule (GHD gates 21+). H 3924 (0.4 mg cap, 21+, online-sales ban) died 2026-06-25. AG's 2021 opinion says delta-8/isomers are not lawful hemp and SLED has indicted sellers of marijuana marketed as hemp — GHD lists no delta-8 and no flower. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Is THCA Legal in South Carolina? 2026 Status Before the Federal Sunsetcannabisregulations.ai (opens in a new tab) · 2026-08-06
“H 3924 came closest: the Senate adopted the conference report on June 25, 2026, but the House rejected it 28-69 the same day. ... Age-21 restrictions are not codified at the state level.”
South Carolina hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official South Carolina sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in South Carolina?
- South Carolina does not issue a hemp retail license: South Carolina has no state license or registration for selling finished hemp/CBD products at retail or online. Official link: SCDA Hemp Applications page (farmer, processor, handler) (agriculture.sc.gov) — fee: Processor: $100 application + $1,500 permit per location; Handler: $100 application per location; farmer permit fee per SCDA fee schedule (statute caps cultivator/handler fees at $1,000/yr). Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in South Carolina?
- South Carolina Department of Agriculture – Hemp Farming Program — Hemp farmer, processor and handler permits under the USDA-approved SC State Plan. South Carolina Attorney General — Issued the 2021 opinion that delta-8 THC and other THC isomers are not lawful hemp under SC law (enforced by SLED).
- What are South Carolina's hemp laws in 2026?
- South Carolina has no state license or registration for selling finished hemp/CBD products at retail or online; the Hemp Farming Act expressly does not apply to the possession, handling, transport or sale of hemp products and extracts, and no state age limit or per-serving THC cap exists for hemp products. Only growing, processing and handling raw hemp require SCDA permits (individuals only, background check, SC residency), and hemp/CBD may not be added to commercial animal feed. Key law: S.C. Hemp Farming Act (S.C. Code § 46-55-10 et seq.); no consumable-hemp statute.
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in South Carolina?
- South Carolina states no minimum age for hemp products in the sources verified September 29, 2026; Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does South Carolina cap THC in hemp products?
- South Carolina sets no state-level milligram cap in the verified dataset; the federal definition (total THC including THCA at or below 0.3% dry weight) applies, and the state law summary above lists any product rules.
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in South Carolina?
- 1. Register the business with the SC Secretary of State and obtain a SC retail license / sales tax registration from the SC Department of Revenue. 2. If growing, processing or handling raw hemp: apply for the SCDA Hemp Farmer permit (January window; next opens January 2027), Processor permit ($100 + $1,500 per location) or Handler permit ($100 per location) and pass the background check. 3. For finished hemp/CBD products: no SC permit exists, but keep COAs showing ≤0.3% total THC and avoid delta-8/THC-isomer products, which the Attorney General considers unlawful. 4. Comply with SC food-product labeling and the animal-feed prohibition on hemp/CBD. 5. Monitor the 2027 session for a revived consumables bill (H.3924 model: 21+, product registration, 0.4 mg THC per container).
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.