Hemp Laws & Licensing · OH
Ohio hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — no license is needed to sell compliant (≤0.4 mg THC per container) hemp/CBD products…
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 0.4 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Cannabis system only / banned · online: Prohibited
- Key law
- Ohio SB 56 (136th General Assembly), signed 2025-12-19 — effective March 20, 2026
The law today
Ohio SB 56, signed Dec 19, 2025 and effective March 20, 2026, redefines hemp as cannabis with not more than 0.3% total THC and provides that a final hemp-derived cannabinoid product may contain no more than 0.4 mg combined total THC (and similar cannabinoids) per container; anything above that is marijuana that may be manufactured and sold only by Division of Cannabis Control licensees to adults 21+, so delta-8/THC gummies, vapes and beverages are banned from gas stations, smoke shops and general retail.
Governor DeWine line-item vetoed a provision that would have let 5 mg THC hemp beverages be sold through liquor permit holders during 2026, so intoxicating hemp beverages are also dispensary-only. ODA continues to license hemp cultivation and processing under ORC Chapter 928 (3-year licenses); no license is needed to sell compliant (≤0.4 mg THC per container) hemp/CBD products. The law followed the Governor's October 2025 executive order and emergency rules banning intoxicating hemp sales.
Who regulates it
Ohio Department of Agriculture – Hemp Programagri.ohio.gov (opens in a new tab)
Hemp cultivation and processing licensing (ORC Chapter 928; 3-year licenses)
Ohio Department of Commerce – Division of Cannabis Controlcom.ohio.gov (opens in a new tab)
Regulates all intoxicating hemp products (over 0.4 mg total THC per container) as marijuana; dispensary-only sales under SB 56
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Ohio Division of Cannabis Control (Department of Commerce)com.ohio.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Anyone cultivating or processing hemp in Ohio (possessing, buying or selling hemp/hemp products needs no ODA license)
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Growers and processors
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- SB 56 (136th GA) – marijuana and intoxicating hemp reforms; signed Dec 19, 2025, effective Mar 20, 2026legislature.ohio.gov (opens in a new tab)
- ORC 928.01 – definitions: hemp ≤0.3% total THC; final hemp-derived cannabinoid products ≤0.4 mg combined THC per container (eff. Mar 20, 2026)codes.ohio.gov (opens in a new tab)
- ORC 928.02 – hemp cultivation and processing licensingcodes.ohio.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Division of Cannabis Control – 'Intoxicating Hemp Ban Now In Effect' (Mar 24, 2026)com.ohio.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
No state-specific COA page was found for Ohio; the federal sampling and lab rules on the main page apply, and the licensing pages above carry any state testing rules.
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Ohio
- 1
Register the business with the Ohio Secretary of State and obtain a vendor's license
- 2
Growers: apply to ODA for a hemp cultivation license (3-year term) before planting
- 3
Processors/extractors: apply to ODA for a hemp processing license (3-year term)
- 4
Sell only final products with ≤0.4 mg combined total THC per container and ≤0.3% total THC; keep COAs showing total THC
- 5
Any intoxicating product (over 0.4 mg THC/container) requires Division of Cannabis Control cultivator/processor/dispensary licensing and 21+ sales
- 6
Pull all delta-8, THCA and hemp THC beverages from non-dispensary shelves (banned since Mar 20, 2026)
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Ohio
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Ohio: state law only allows these hemp products through its licensed cannabis system, if at all.
State law: cannabis system only.
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence — Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- The ODA hemp program pages (agri.ohio.gov/divisions/hemp-program, /cultivation, /processing, /faqs) all returned 'No published content found' on 2026-09-29, so the ODA home page and ORC 928.02 are given instead; license fees therefore not verified (historically ~$500 per 3-year license). SB 56 text and the ORC 928.01 threshold were verified on legislature.ohio.gov and codes.ohio.gov. The DCC news release is dated Mar 24, 2026.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- Any product over 0.4 mg total THC per container is marijuana and dispensary-only; preceded by the Oct 2025 executive order. Statewide TRO denied 2026-03-19; narrow retailer TROs and an Ohio Supreme Court veto challenge pending. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Intoxicating Hemp Ban Now In Effect – What SB56 Means for Products Sold in Ohio's Licensed Cannabis Dispensaries (Ohio Dept. of Commerce)com.ohio.gov (opens in a new tab) · 2026-03
“any product containing more than 0.4mg of total THC per container is considered marijuana and is prohibited from being sold outside of a cannabis dispensary”
Ohio hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Ohio sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Ohio?
- Ohio does not issue a hemp retail license: no license is needed to sell compliant (≤0.4 mg THC per container) hemp/CBD products. Official link: Hemp cultivation & processing licenses – ORC 928.02 (3-year licenses issued by ODA) (codes.ohio.gov). Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Ohio?
- Ohio Department of Agriculture – Hemp Program — Hemp cultivation and processing licensing (ORC Chapter 928; 3-year licenses). Ohio Department of Commerce – Division of Cannabis Control — Regulates all intoxicating hemp products (over 0.4 mg total THC per container) as marijuana; dispensary-only sales under SB 56. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Ohio Division of Cannabis Control (Department of Commerce).
- What are Ohio's hemp laws in 2026?
- Ohio SB 56, signed Dec 19, 2025 and effective March 20, 2026, redefines hemp as cannabis with not more than 0.3% total THC and provides that a final hemp-derived cannabinoid product may contain no more than 0.4 mg combined total THC (and similar cannabinoids) per container; anything above that is marijuana that may be manufactured and sold only by Division of Cannabis Control licensees to adults 21+, so delta-8/THC gummies, vapes and beverages are banned from gas stations, smoke shops and general retail. Governor DeWine line-item vetoed a provision that would have let 5 mg THC hemp beverages be sold through liquor permit holders during 2026, so intoxicating hemp beverages are also dispensary-only. Key law: Ohio SB 56 (136th General Assembly), signed 2025-12-19 (effective March 20, 2026).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Ohio?
- 21+ under Ohio law (Ohio SB 56 (136th General Assembly), signed 2025-12-19). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Ohio cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes — 0.4 mg per package under Ohio SB 56 (136th General Assembly), signed 2025-12-19. Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Ohio?
- 1. Register the business with the Ohio Secretary of State and obtain a vendor's license. 2. Growers: apply to ODA for a hemp cultivation license (3-year term) before planting. 3. Processors/extractors: apply to ODA for a hemp processing license (3-year term). 4. Sell only final products with ≤0.4 mg combined total THC per container and ≤0.3% total THC; keep COAs showing total THC. 5. Any intoxicating product (over 0.4 mg THC/container) requires Division of Cannabis Control cultivator/processor/dispensary licensing and 21+ sales. 6. Pull all delta-8, THCA and hemp THC beverages from non-dispensary shelves (banned since Mar 20, 2026).
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.