Hemp Laws & Licensing · ME
Maine hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — Maine has no state license or registration for selling consumable hemp products and no per-serving or per-package THC…
- Minimum age
- 21+
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- No state cap stated
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Legal (with the state's rules) · online: Allowed
- Key law
- ME PL 2025 c. 416 (LD 1920), amending 7 MRS §2231 — effective June 24, 2025
The law today
Maine has no state license or registration for selling consumable hemp products and no per-serving or per-package THC cap; only hemp cultivation is licensed (DACF, 7 MRS §2231), while makers and sellers of ingestible hemp products need ordinary Maine food-establishment/manufacturer licensing. Since the emergency law P.L. 2025, c. 416 (LD 1920, enacted June 2025) took effect, a 'potentially intoxicating hemp product' (an ingestible hemp product with 0.3% or more potentially intoxicating cannabinoids such as delta-8/9/10 or HHC, or a non-intoxicating-to-intoxicating cannabinoid ratio of 10:1 or less) may not be sold to anyone under 21, must be in child-resistant, tamper-evident packaging (beverages, salves and topicals excepted), and may not mimic trademarked products.
Intoxicating cannabis outside these hemp thresholds remains confined to Office of Cannabis Policy licensees; no further state changes were enacted in 2026, but municipalities have begun adopting local restrictions and the federal 0.4 mg per container redefinition (delayed to December 11, 2026) will apply.
Who regulates it
Licenses indoor and outdoor hemp growers (7 MRS §2231; Chapter 274 rules); does not license processing or retail
Maine Office of Cannabis Policymaine.gov (opens in a new tab)
Regulates adult-use and medical cannabis (Title 28-B); hemp products are outside its licensing system
Licenses & registrations
DACF hemp grower license application instructions (indoor/outdoor)maine.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone growing hemp in Maine (apply at least 30 days before planting)
- Fee
- $100 application fee + license fee: $500 + $50/acre outdoor or $500 + $0.25/sq ft indoor for floral/seed production; $100 for specialized (seedlings, fiber, grain, research) growers; $20,000 cap
DACF Hemp Program home (applications, rules, licensed grower list)maine.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Prospective and current hemp growers
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Reference; Maine growers license through DACF
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- 7 MRS §2231 – Hemp (grower licensing; potentially intoxicating hemp products, age 21, packaging)legislature.maine.gov (opens in a new tab)
- 7 MRS chapter 406-A – Hemp (PDF)legislature.maine.gov (opens in a new tab)
- P.L. 2025, c. 416 (LD 1920 / HP 1281) – emergency law prohibiting sale of potentially intoxicating hemp products to under-21slegislature.maine.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Maine State Hemp Program Annual Report FY2025 (April 2026)legislature.maine.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
No state-specific COA page was found for Maine; the federal sampling and lab rules on the main page apply, and the licensing pages above carry any state testing rules.
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Maine
- 1
Register the business with the Maine Secretary of State and obtain a Maine sales tax registration
- 2
Growers: submit the DACF indoor or outdoor hemp application with the $100 application fee at least 30 days before planting and pay the license fee; report planting and harvest
- 3
Manufacturers/sellers of ingestible hemp products: obtain the applicable DACF Quality Assurance & Regulation food license (manufacturer, retail food establishment) per 7 MRS §2231(3-A)
- 4
For any potentially intoxicating hemp product: sell only to customers 21+ (verify ID), use child-resistant tamper-evident packaging, and avoid trademark look-alike packaging
- 5
Keep COAs from an accredited lab for every product showing total THC and cannabinoid ratios (needed to know whether a product is 'potentially intoxicating' and to meet federal 0.3% hemp definition)
- 6
Check municipal ordinances (several Maine towns are restricting THC hemp sales) and prepare for the federal 0.4 mg per container limit
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Maine
Open on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market is open on Good Hemp Distro for shoppers in this state (21+ only).
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Medium confidence — Some links or dates rely on secondary sources or pending rulemaking; see the notes.
- Research notes
- The chaptered-law PDF (item 4 of HP 1281) is the official text; LRC/LegiScan confirms enactment as emergency legislation in June 2025 (exact signing date not shown on fetched pages). Maine's Office of Cannabis Policy publishes no hemp-specific guidance; it is listed for context only (cannabis_agency left null because hemp is not folded into its licensing). DACF's FY2025 report warns the state grower program may be handed to USDA or discontinued if 2026 license counts stay under 50.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- Potentially intoxicating hemp products are 21+ with child-resistant packaging; no state retail license and no statute addressing online/mail-order sales. Some municipalities moving to restrict. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Public Law 2025, Chapter 416 (LD 1920) – An Act to Prohibit the Sale of Potentially Intoxicating Hemp Products to a Person Under 21 Years of Age (Maine Legislature)legislature.maine.gov (opens in a new tab) · 2025-06
“A potentially intoxicating hemp product may not be sold to a person who has not attained 21 years of age.”
Maine hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Maine sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Maine?
- Maine does not issue a hemp retail license: Maine has no state license or registration for selling consumable hemp products and no per-serving or per-package THC cap. Official link: DACF hemp grower license application instructions (indoor/outdoor) (maine.gov) — fee: $100 application fee + license fee: $500 + $50/acre outdoor or $500 + $0.25/sq ft indoor for floral/seed production; $100 for specialized (seedlings, fiber, grain, research) growers; $20,000 cap. Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in Maine?
- Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry – Hemp Program — Licenses indoor and outdoor hemp growers (7 MRS §2231; Chapter 274 rules); does not license processing or retail. Maine Office of Cannabis Policy — Regulates adult-use and medical cannabis (Title 28-B); hemp products are outside its licensing system.
- What are Maine's hemp laws in 2026?
- Maine has no state license or registration for selling consumable hemp products and no per-serving or per-package THC cap; only hemp cultivation is licensed (DACF, 7 MRS §2231), while makers and sellers of ingestible hemp products need ordinary Maine food-establishment/manufacturer licensing. Since the emergency law P.L. Key law: ME PL 2025 c. 416 (LD 1920), amending 7 MRS §2231 (effective June 24, 2025).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Maine?
- 21+ under Maine law (ME PL 2025 c. 416 (LD 1920), amending 7 MRS §2231). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Maine cap THC in hemp products?
- Maine sets no state-level milligram cap in the verified dataset; the federal definition (total THC including THCA at or below 0.3% dry weight) applies, and the state law summary above lists any product rules.
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Maine?
- 1. Register the business with the Maine Secretary of State and obtain a Maine sales tax registration. 2. Growers: submit the DACF indoor or outdoor hemp application with the $100 application fee at least 30 days before planting and pay the license fee; report planting and harvest. 3. Manufacturers/sellers of ingestible hemp products: obtain the applicable DACF Quality Assurance & Regulation food license (manufacturer, retail food establishment) per 7 MRS §2231(3-A). 4. For any potentially intoxicating hemp product: sell only to customers 21+ (verify ID), use child-resistant tamper-evident packaging, and avoid trademark look-alike packaging. 5. Keep COAs from an accredited lab for every product showing total THC and cannabinoid ratios (needed to know whether a product is 'potentially intoxicating' and to meet federal 0.3% hemp definition). 6. Check municipal ordinances (several Maine towns are restricting THC hemp sales) and prepare for the federal 0.4 mg per container limit.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.