Hemp Laws & Licensing ยท HI
Hawaii hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- Yes โ Hemp Retailer/Distributor Certificate of Registration โ online application (DOH portal)
- Minimum age
- 21+ for some products
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- 1 mg THC per serving ยท 5 mg per package
- Hemp-derived THC products ยท online sales
- Cannabis system only / banned ยท online: Prohibited
- Key law
- HRS ch. 328G; HAR ch. 11-37 (DOH interim rules); Act 269, SLH 2025 โ effective January 1, 2026
The law today
Hawaii regulates finished hemp products through the Department of Health: processors need a DOH hemp processor permit, and under Act 269 (SLH 2025, HB 1482) every retailer, distributor and online seller of manufactured hemp products must hold a $50 five-year DOH certificate of registration since January 1, 2026, with enforcement (fines up to $10,000 per offense, seizures, injunctions) since July 1, 2026. The interim HAR 11-37 rules (effective January 28, 2026) cap edible products at 1 mg total THC per serving and 5 mg per container, beverages at 0.5 mg per container, and oil tinctures at 3 mg per serving/85 mg per container (tinctures 21+ only), require total THC โค0.3%, and prohibit hemp flower, pre-rolls, vapes and other inhalables, synthetic cannabinoids, cannabinoid-infused conventional foods, and products with nicotine, caffeine, alcohol or kava.
Growers are licensed by USDA because Hawaii has no state cultivation plan.
Who regulates it
Hemp processor permits; manufactured hemp product (MHP) standards (HAR 11-37); retailer/distributor certificate of registration (Act 269, SLH 2025)
Hawaii has no state cultivation plan; growers hold a USDA hemp producer license
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: Hawaii DOH Office of Medical Cannabis Control and Regulation (medical cannabis dispensaries)health.hawaii.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Every retailer, distributor and online seller (in-state or out-of-state) selling manufactured hemp products to Hawaii customers โ required since Jan 1, 2026; enforcement began July 1, 2026
- Fee
- $50 per certificate, valid 5 years
Retailer/Distributor Registry FAQhealth.hawaii.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Registrants (exemptions: oil-based tinctures, topicals, GRAS hemp seed products)
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
Retailer registration application instructions (PDF)health.hawaii.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Registrants
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
Hemp Processor Permit (DOH) โ application packethealth.hawaii.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Anyone processing hemp into crude extract or manufactured hemp products, or packaging/labeling MHP in Hawaii
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
USDA Hemp Producer License (cultivation)ams.usda.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Who needs it
- Hemp growers in Hawaii
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 328G โ Hemp Processing and Manufactured Hemp Productscapitol.hawaii.gov (opens in a new tab)
- HAR Chapter 11-37 โ Interim hemp rules (effective Jan 28, 2026), standard versionhealth.hawaii.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Summary of 11-37 interim hemp rules (April 2026)health.hawaii.gov (opens in a new tab)
- DOH/AG notice โ hemp retail registration enforcement begins July 1, 2026 (Act 269, SLH 2025 / HB 1482)health.hawaii.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in Hawaii
- 1
Register the business with the Hawaii DCCA Business Registration Division and obtain a GET license
- 2
Create an account on the DOH public portal and apply for the Hemp Retailer/Distributor Certificate of Registration ($50, 5 years); display it at each location/website
- 3
Processors/manufacturers: obtain the DOH Hemp Processor Permit (facility, zoning and 500-ft setback requirements; USDA license or background check)
- 4
Sell only compliant manufactured hemp products: โค1 mg THC/serving and โค5 mg/container edibles, โค0.5 mg beverages, lab-tested and labeled per HAR 11-37; no flower, pre-rolls, vapes or synthetic cannabinoids
- 5
Restrict tinctures to 21+ and carry the 'not for sale to persons under 21' warning on other MHP
- 6
Growers: apply to USDA for a hemp producer license
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in Hawaii
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Hawaii: state law only allows these hemp products through its licensed cannabis system, if at all.
State law: cannabis system only.
Live status โ it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 โ every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- High confidence โ Official pages verified; law summarised from primary sources.
- Research notes
- capitol.hawaii.gov returns HTTP 403 to automated clients, so the HRS 328G link (which DOH itself links) could not be text-verified. HAR 11-37 rules are 'interim'; permanent rules may change the limits. The processor permit fee is not stated in the packet.
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- 1 mg total THC per serving / 5 mg per container caps; delta-8/10, HHC, THC-O, THC-P prohibited; vapes, flower and pre-rolls banned. Every retailer/distributor including online out-of-state sellers must register with DOH; enforcement began 2026-07-01. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- Consumers of Manufactured Hemp Products โ FAQ (Hawaii Department of Health Hemp Program)health.hawaii.gov (opens in a new tab) ยท 2025-12-16
โUp to 1 mg total THC is allowed in each [gummy]... Up to 5 mg total THC is allowed in container... [prohibited:] delta-8 THC, delta-10 THC, THCO, THC-P, THC-H, THCjd, HHC, HHCO.โ
Hawaii hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official Hawaii sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in Hawaii?
- Yes. Official link: Hemp Retailer/Distributor Certificate of Registration โ online application (DOH portal) (hi-doh-public.nls.egov.com) โ fee: $50 per certificate, valid 5 years. Growers license separately through the state hemp program or USDA.
- Who regulates hemp in Hawaii?
- Hawaii Department of Health โ Office of Medical Cannabis Control and Regulation (OMCCR), Hemp Program โ Hemp processor permits; manufactured hemp product (MHP) standards (HAR 11-37); retailer/distributor certificate of registration (Act 269, SLH 2025). USDA Agricultural Marketing Service โ Domestic Hemp Production Program โ Hawaii has no state cultivation plan; growers hold a USDA hemp producer license. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: Hawaii DOH Office of Medical Cannabis Control and Regulation (medical cannabis dispensaries).
- What are Hawaii's hemp laws in 2026?
- Hawaii regulates finished hemp products through the Department of Health: processors need a DOH hemp processor permit, and under Act 269 (SLH 2025, HB 1482) every retailer, distributor and online seller of manufactured hemp products must hold a $50 five-year DOH certificate of registration since January 1, 2026, with enforcement (fines up to $10,000 per offense, seizures, injunctions) since July 1, 2026. The interim HAR 11-37 rules (effective January 28, 2026) cap edible products at 1 mg total THC per serving and 5 mg per container, beverages at 0.5 mg per container, and oil tinctures at 3 mg per serving/85 mg per container (tinctures 21+ only), require total THC โค0.3%, and prohibit hemp flower, pre-rolls, vapes and other inhalables, synthetic cannabinoids, cannabinoid-infused conventional foods, and products with nicotine, caffeine, alcohol or kava. Key law: HRS ch. 328G; HAR ch. 11-37 (DOH interim rules); Act 269, SLH 2025 (effective January 1, 2026).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in Hawaii?
- 21+ for some products under Hawaii law (HRS ch. 328G; HAR ch. 11-37 (DOH interim rules); Act 269, SLH 2025). Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does Hawaii cap THC in hemp products?
- Yes โ 1 mg THC per serving ยท 5 mg per package under HRS ch. 328G; HAR ch. 11-37 (DOH interim rules); Act 269, SLH 2025. Federally, hemp must test at or below 0.3% total THC.
- Does Hawaii require lab testing (a COA) for hemp products?
- HAR 11-37 lab testing and labeling โ total THC (THCA + delta-9 + delta-8) per serving/container, contaminants; see rule summary. Official page: health.hawaii.gov
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in Hawaii?
- 1. Register the business with the Hawaii DCCA Business Registration Division and obtain a GET license. 2. Create an account on the DOH public portal and apply for the Hemp Retailer/Distributor Certificate of Registration ($50, 5 years); display it at each location/website. 3. Processors/manufacturers: obtain the DOH Hemp Processor Permit (facility, zoning and 500-ft setback requirements; USDA license or background check). 4. Sell only compliant manufactured hemp products: โค1 mg THC/serving and โค5 mg/container edibles, โค0.5 mg beverages, lab-tested and labeled per HAR 11-37; no flower, pre-rolls, vapes or synthetic cannabinoids. 5. Restrict tinctures to 21+ and carry the 'not for sale to persons under 21' warning on other MHP. 6. Growers: apply to USDA for a hemp producer license.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change โ always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.