Hemp Laws & Licensing · DC
District of Columbia hemp laws & licensing
At a glance
- Retail license / registration required?
- No — …no consumable-hemp license and no state-level hemp product standards…
- Minimum age
- No state age rule stated
- State THC caps (hemp products)
- No state cap stated
- Hemp-derived THC products · online sales
- Cannabis system only / banned · online: Prohibited
- Key law
- D.C. Code § 7-1671.08 as enforced under the Medical Cannabis Conditional License and Unlicensed Establishment Closure Clarification Emergency Amendment Act of 2024 — effective July 15, 2024
The law today
The District has no hemp program, no consumable-hemp license and no state-level hemp product standards; growers would need a federal USDA hemp producer license. Since 2025 the Council's emergency acts (renewed most recently by Act 26-391, effective July 30, 2026) define an 'unlicensed establishment' to include any business selling cannabis products or 'Schedule I substances or products that contain Schedule I substances', and ABCA and MPD have used D.C.
Code § 7-1671.08 to padlock shops selling hemp-derived THC, THCA and even CBD products without a medical cannabis license (e.g., the March 2026 District Hemp settlement barring sales of 'hemp, CBD, THCA and THC' products), with fines of $10,000–$30,000 per violation. In practice, THC-containing products may be sold only by ABCA-licensed medical cannabis retailers to registered patients 21+ (or 18+ with registration); the lawful status of non-intoxicating CBD products at general retail is unsettled.
Who regulates it
DC Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Administration (ABCA)abca.dc.gov (opens in a new tab)
Regulates medical cannabis and enforces against unlicensed establishments selling cannabis, THC and other Schedule I products (including hemp-derived THC/THCA products); no hemp licensing program
DC has no USDA-approved hemp plan; any hemp grower in DC applies directly to USDA for a hemp producer license
Cannabis regulator
Hemp-derived THC products here run through the cannabis system: DC Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Administrationabca.dc.gov (opens in a new tab)
Licenses & registrations
- Who needs it
- Anyone growing hemp in the District
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Who needs it
- Anyone wanting to sell THC-containing products lawfully in DC must hold an ABCA medical cannabis license
- Fee
- Not stated on the official page
The law
- D.C. Code § 7-1671.08 – prohibited sales by unlicensed establishments; summary closure and finescode.dccouncil.gov (opens in a new tab)
- D.C. Code Title 7, Chapter 16B – Use of Cannabis for Medical Treatmentcode.dccouncil.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Act 26-391 – Medical Cannabis Licensing and Unlicensed Establishment Enforcement Clarification Emergency Amendment Act of 2026 (effective July 30, 2026)code.dccouncil.gov (opens in a new tab)
- Unlicensed Establishment Enforcement Clarification Emergency Amendment Act of 2025 (enforcement against all unlicensed establishments from April 1, 2025)dccouncil.gov (opens in a new tab)
Testing & COAs
No state-specific COA page was found for District of Columbia; the federal sampling and lab rules on the main page apply, and the licensing pages above carry any state testing rules.
Need a lab? COA analysis partners
Steps to a compliant hemp business in District of Columbia
- 1
Register the business with DC's Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (basic business license) and Office of Tax and Revenue
- 2
Do not sell hemp-derived THC, THCA, delta-8 or other intoxicating products without an ABCA medical cannabis license – ABCA treats these as unlicensed cannabis sales subject to summary closure
- 3
If you want to sell THC products, apply for an ABCA medical cannabis retailer/cultivation license (see ABCA licensing pages)
- 4
Hemp cultivation: apply to USDA for a hemp producer license (DC has no state plan)
- 5
For CBD-only products, seek legal advice: ABCA settlements have restricted CBD sales at unlicensed shops
- 6
Track Council action on permanent versions of the 2025–2026 unlicensed-establishment emergency acts and any hemp regulation bill
On Good Hemp Distro
Recreational (21+) market in District of Columbia
Closed on GHDThe Recreational (21+) market isn't available in Washington D.C.: state law only allows these hemp products through its licensed cannabis system, if at all.
State law: cannabis system only.
Live status — it changes as state rules are verified and as the federal cutoff approaches. Everyday Hemp, Industrial and Services products are available everywhere.
Sources & verification
- Verified
- September 29, 2026 — every official link above was fetched and checked on that date.
- Confidence
- Low confidence — Unsettled or fast-changing law; read the notes and confirm with the agency.
- Research notes
- No official DC hemp licensing page exists to link; the enforcement position is drawn from emergency Council acts, the D.C. Code and ABCA Board orders (e.g., the March 4, 2026 District Hemp Botanicals offer-in-compromise at abca.dc.gov). Emergency acts expire after 90 days and are periodically renewed, so check code.dccouncil.gov for the current version. A Washington City Paper article on the 2025 hemp crackdown could not be fetched (robots).
- Good Hemp Distro market notes
- No hemp statute; ABCA treats hemp-derived THC products as unlicensed cannabis and has padlocked 90+ shops. Only licensed medical cannabis retailers may sell THC. Capitol Hemp challenge pending in Superior Court. (Recreational (21+) state dataset, version 2026-09-28)
Cited sources
- DC Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Board – District Hemp Botanicals settlement orderabca.dc.gov (opens in a new tab) · 2026-03-04
“Prohibits sale of 'cannabis, or cannabis-derived products, including all cannabinoids, hemp, CBD, tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (THC-A), and THC without a license.'”
District of Columbia hemp law FAQ
Short answers drawn from the official District of Columbia sources above (verified September 29, 2026). Not legal advice.
- Do I need a license to sell hemp products in District of Columbia?
- District of Columbia does not issue a hemp retail license: no consumable-hemp license and no state-level hemp product standards. Official link: ABCA Medical Cannabis laws and regulations page (licensing for cannabis retailers/cultivators; unlicensed-establishment enforcement) (abca.dc.gov). Federal rules (USDA grower licensing, FDA labeling, carrier policies) still apply.
- Who regulates hemp in District of Columbia?
- DC Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Administration (ABCA) — Regulates medical cannabis and enforces against unlicensed establishments selling cannabis, THC and other Schedule I products (including hemp-derived THC/THCA products); no hemp licensing program. USDA Agricultural Marketing Service – Domestic Hemp Production Program — DC has no USDA-approved hemp plan; any hemp grower in DC applies directly to USDA for a hemp producer license. Hemp-derived THC products run through the cannabis regulator: DC Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Administration.
- What are District of Columbia's hemp laws in 2026?
- The District has no hemp program, no consumable-hemp license and no state-level hemp product standards; growers would need a federal USDA hemp producer license. Since 2025 the Council's emergency acts (renewed most recently by Act 26-391, effective July 30, 2026) define an 'unlicensed establishment' to include any business selling cannabis products or 'Schedule I substances or products that contain Schedule I substances', and ABCA and MPD have used D.C. Key law: D.C. Code § 7-1671.08 as enforced under the Medical Cannabis Conditional License and Unlicensed Establishment Closure Clarification Emergency Amendment Act of 2024 (effective July 15, 2024).
- What is the minimum age to buy hemp products in District of Columbia?
- District of Columbia states no minimum age for hemp products in the sources verified September 29, 2026; Good Hemp Distro is 21+ everywhere regardless.
- Does District of Columbia cap THC in hemp products?
- District of Columbia sets no state-level milligram cap in the verified dataset; the federal definition (total THC including THCA at or below 0.3% dry weight) applies, and the state law summary above lists any product rules.
- How do I start a compliant hemp business in District of Columbia?
- 1. Register the business with DC's Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (basic business license) and Office of Tax and Revenue. 2. Do not sell hemp-derived THC, THCA, delta-8 or other intoxicating products without an ABCA medical cannabis license – ABCA treats these as unlicensed cannabis sales subject to summary closure. 3. If you want to sell THC products, apply for an ABCA medical cannabis retailer/cultivation license (see ABCA licensing pages). 4. Hemp cultivation: apply to USDA for a hemp producer license (DC has no state plan). 5. For CBD-only products, seek legal advice: ABCA settlements have restricted CBD sales at unlicensed shops. 6. Track Council action on permanent versions of the 2025–2026 unlicensed-establishment emergency acts and any hemp regulation bill.
Related
Not legal advice. Links and summaries verified September 29, 2026; laws change — always confirm with the official links and a licensed attorney before you sell.